The Sun has got his Hat on


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Faro
May 24th 2013
Published: May 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We made our way nearer to the coast and the sunshine, trying to find a campsite NEAR to the beach was a little more difficult than expected, this is Portugal so you would expect some but only 2 could we find. The decision was made to head down the coast and carry on if the description of ‘on the beach’ was inaccurate. An easy journey and as we made our way through the little streets of Fuzeta we arrived at the Camping Fuzeta.



Woolly says – Georgie would have liked it here, the pitches are all flat and hard, very very hard as Ian found out when putting the tent pegs in. While Ian was hammering away Jo and I checked out the facilities, basic and pretty clean but not many of them for the number of pitches. The pricing was also a little strange, you pay for the number of people (standard on the European sites), then you pay for the tent/Motorhome plus hook up and then you pay for the size of plot! We’re not sure how much we will be paying yet! But have decided to stay for four nights as we get one night free! Two hours later we had enough pegs in to hold the tent down and we thought a trip to the beach was in order. The beach is part of a conservation project and as we walked over the small bridge to the sand we were able to see all sorts of marine life going about its business. With crabs running sideways, large, medium and tiny fish darting through the seaweed we stood watching them for ages.



Promising Woolly more time on the beach the next day we wandered back to camp and sat in the sun sipping our Sangria (left overs from Spain) and enjoying the warmth. A quiet night, except for the live band playing just outside the campsite, we didn’t moan they were playing up a storm and we enjoyed it, not sure this was true of others on the site though. A lie in and a slow start before we took Woolly off to the beach.



Woolly says – I had my bucket and spade ready at 8am and not a peek out of either of them, I sat and waited very patiently, well except for humming, finally we set off. The beach itself is made up of tiny islands from the town beach, water taxis are available for a few Euro’s each way to access the further sandy isles. The sand is golden and shelly, I spent my first day collecting lots of different shells, while Jo and Ian lay soaking up the rays, the Atlantic however is another matter, it’s FREEZING! Ian, brave man went for a paddle, he lasted two and a half minutes!!!! With fur matted with sun cream (Jo insists) and sand everywhere we had a lovely relaxing day, I particularly enjoyed my ice cream. Tired from my shell collecting I found myself ready for bed quite early and the promise of castle building the next day sent me off into dream land.



With bright, cloudless skies another lazy start, with us being chivvied up by Woolly we made it to the beach by mid-morning.



Woolly says – it was beautiful again, I could get used to this every day. I set about building an enormous castle with a bit of help from Ian, calling out to Jo to come and take a picture I found that the tide was coming in at an alarming rate and that my castle was already washing away into the sea, I was sad, but with the promise of ice cream and a walk round the town of Fuzeta I put on a brave face.



The town is a strange place, narrow streets with houses close together, bars are everywhere, we stopped counting at 25, but only one tiny supermarket, a pharmacy, a sort of newsagent and a clothes shop, obviously food is not to be cooked but to be bought as you sit in the sun at one of the numerous bars!



Woolly says – I liked the town, it was little and quite quaint, we checked out food prices and the average meal is 7 Euro’s (approximately £5.70 GBP), that should sort out tea tonight. Were here for another two nights before we head back into Spain again, think how many castles I can build in two days!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



24th May 2013
Woolly's Shell Collection

Great photo
This is one of my favourite images of you Woolly, it looks as if you really enjoyed your time at the beach.
25th May 2013
Woolly's Shell Collection

It makes a change
Thank you I was rather chuffed with it as well. Had a great time, back to ruins tomorrow! Best Wishes Woolly
24th May 2013

Woolly needs some shades
Looks like a great day at the beach.
25th May 2013

I certainly do!
I did have some but I stood on them, Jo wasn't very pleased as we now have to find some in my size again! Best Wishes Woolly
10th July 2013

Beatiful place
the harbour of fuzeta is simply wonderful! thanks for sharing your photos! [URL="http://www.takemetherealgarvetransfers.com"] TakemeThere[/URL]

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb