Poland and the journey to get there!


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland
August 15th 2015
Published: August 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The journey to Krakow - 14th-16th August 2015

Long version - in all its glorious detail! 😉
It had been a long yet enjoyable last day in Romania but now is was time to catch my 11pm bus to Budapest on my way to Krakow. I grabbed a taxi to the bus station and ended up with the most back handed compliment of my trip, from the young taxi driver. His words. "I'd say you were about 35 to 40, definitely not old, more middle age!!". Then he asked for my blog details which I give to him, to prove even middle age people can travel!!! 😊 The cheeky git! The bus was late but I felt at ease as there were others waiting for the same one. Anyway here it comes about 25 minutes later, at which point the driver gets off and announces a 15 minute break stop to the passenger's already on board. Typical! He checks my ticket and marks it off against his list and hands it back to me. He then, in fairness takes my case and places it underneath in the storage area, and gestures for me to get on the bus. The guy next to me tried this but was summoned to follow him! 😊 The driver always travels with an Assistant. This has been the case all across Europe and generally they've been pretty helpful. Before I could now get on the bus, the Assistant decides to check my ticket following the exact same process he has just watched the driver do. OK I think, leave it slide. I know I'm tired and I'm starting to get narky. With all the buses I've caught to date, my ticket has always had a seat number on it. So when I'm finally on the bus, it's quite dark but I start to look for seat numbers. There aren't any but mine was 6, so I should be in the second row on either the left or right side. Now normally being abit anal about such things I would insist I sit in my allocated seat. On this occasion I decided against it. Two ladies sat in that row, were quite large and appeared to already be in their own and my allocated seat, whichever it was. Fine I thought, no worries I'll just sit somewhere else. Well not to put too fine a point on it, it looked like squatters rights. If people weren't already sleeping and sprawled across two seats, there were those sat, where there appeared to be space, either ignored you or glared at you. I made my way up the bus thinking, maybe there is space at the back. I was halted halfway, when the bloody Assistant popped up through the middle side door pointing at the front of the bus gesturing the back was out of bounds and spouting something in Romanian, which of course was completely lost on me!! I was getting a little pissy now after gesturing to a few people if the seat next to them was taken and them feigning the 'I dont understand' card when it was bloody obvious what I wanted. Anyway, I spied an aisle seat next to a young lad who when I asked if the seat was free just nodded in compliance. I don't think he spoke English but could see I was in no mood. The problem was the seat in front. It had been put in the reclined position rather than the upright. At this point I was a little flustered and cursing under my breath whilst I worked out, how to get it in its upright position so I could actually manoeuvre into the seat I'd found. Finally I was sat down. Whilst we continued to wait for the bus to leave, I made myself a little more comfortable. I freshened up my face and hands, gave my teeth the once over, brushed my hair, blew up my travel pillow and placed my Pug Eye mask on. I needed to block out the reality of the situation. I was all set hopefully to drift off. It'd been a late one the previous night and I could have really done with a good sleep. I pulled the mask down to cover my eyes but it still felt a little light. I rested on my pillow and hoped I'd drop off. I still couldn't believe how rude the passengers had been when we got on and required a seat. It was no good, I was just too het up. I pushed the mask off my eyes and rested it on my forehead. I suddenly felt very squashed in again and I realised the 'Git' in front had reclined his chair whilst I tried to get some shut eye. Well for those that know me well, you can imagine my reaction. I was fuming, there wasn't much room as it was and he had a double seat all to himself!! So without a second thought I tapped his shoulder to tell him he needed to move his seat to the upright position by gesturing and waving my arms in the air. He turned round, gave me a funny look and shook his head. I wasn't in the least bit bothered, as he did what I asked. It was the best decision he could have made!!! Then it suddenly dawned on me, I'd gone off on one, with my bloody Pug Eye mask on my forehead! 😊 I settled back down and tried to drift off. My hope for any sleep on this journey was dwindling by the second. Someone was constantly yapping, the guy behind snoring, another to the left of me stuffing their face with crisps like they were going out of fashion, the young boy next to me trying to stretch his rather long legs into my dance space every five minutes and I was convinced the one in front would try the same shit again! This was becoming reminiscent of my Turkish boat trip. Roll on 6am when I can get off this damn contraption! Luckily at some point pure exhastion kicked in and I managed to get some shut eye. The bus finally reached its first stop around 7am which was Budapest Airport. This was when the 'Git' in front of me got off. As soon as he moved I jumped in his grave and realised he'd left his keys behind. It was tempting to make him suffer but I thought one good turn, deserves another and all that. So I handed them over and made myself comfy. 30 minutes later we arrived at the Bus Station. It had taken 8 long poxy hours but I was so glad it was over!!! My accomodation was in walking distance, even I hadn't realised how close it was as I walked past it and added an extra 10 minute detour. I looked a right state when I turned up and desperately wanted to go to bed. I was hoping that they would be able to let me check in early. No such luck, they had been fully booked the previous night and they were in the middle of a Power cut! This could not be happening. I did however manage to negotiate having my breakfast then, as the following day my bus was scheduled to leave at 4:10am. I freshened up and grabbed some food. They even had GF bread for me. Things were looking up. I chilled out for abit and took a stroll through the People's Park. It wasn't the nicest of places but I was just killing time until Check in. I finally got in my room and went to bed for a few hours. When I woke I realised the Power was out again. I just needed to check a few things in readiness for my bus ride in the morning. Luckily it wasn't long before it came back on. Although the Power continued to dip in and out all through the evening. I thought it best to pack whilst I still had some daylight. Up at 2:30am the following morning was not much fun. I had a short walk to the Bus station and it was already 27°C. The next thing, I spied lightening and it started to pick with rain. Unbelievable!!! The directions I had been given were abit vague but I managed to find someone who was also taking the same bus as me. 4:10am came and went with no sign of the bus. Today was going to be a long journey as it was, supposedly taking 11 hours. Given my recent experience I was edging my bets it would be more like 15!!! What I hadn't bargained for, was the 7 hour delay before I got on! The weather had taken a change and we stood there waiting whilst watching the heavens open, the thunder roll and the lightening strike. The wind had picked up, the temperature dropped and my umbrella broke. All in all it was going swimmingly. I was just hopeful that when the bus arrived it would be half decent and preferably with seats available. I finally got on at 11:15am. It was a double decker so I thought it would have all the mod cons. It did have personal TV's and unlike the train an ok toilet and a refreshment service. All of which contained Gluten apart from the drinks. Still at least I could have a coffee which I still had to pay for. The one thing it did lack was WiFi or at least until we got into Poland. I got a double seat to myself for the whole journey which was wonderful after the last time. I was exhausted so managed a few hours sleep. It was 10 pm when I arrived in Krakow at which point I was brain dead.

Short Version
I had enjoyed my last remaining hours in Romania but alas it was time for my next adventure, this time in Poland. I arrived nearly 48hrs later.

Krakow - 16th-18th August 2015

I grabbed a taxi and took in some of the sights as I got to my accomodation. The host was so helpful, given check in was between 2 and 6pm. My little apartment was clean, small and modern. I had shared kitchen facilities and a washing machine. Even through the exhaustion I knew I had to get a wash on. I made a cuppa and researched abit on Krakow whilst my washing finished. I hit the sack around midnight in what now resembled a Chinese laundry. The next morning I woke early to the sound of lashing rain, thunder and lightning. It must have followed me all the way from Budapest! I grabbed some stuff from the local market for breakfast and got ready to take part in the 'Old Town' walking tour. I knew my time was limited as later that day I was going on an Auschwitz-Birkenau Tour. The walking tour was fun, even in the rain. I met a women from London on a City break who had arrived, the day before. She was great company. Most people left halfway through but we stuck it out. Sometimes nothing feels better than being out in a downpour and not giving a shit about getting wet! An Italian man tried to shade me with his umbrella but it was too late, I was soaked! I headed back for a quick change in readiness for the next part of my day...Auschwitz-Birkenau. It was an odd tour, walking in the areas where such atrocities had taken place. For me, one of the most harrowing scenes was the mound of human hair that had been removed and was used to weave rugs. There were rooms filled with the items brought there by the victims when they thought they were going to a better life. Teapots, Combs, their best shoes. Seeing these objects brought home, the lives that were taken. Even when there, it is hard to imagine the number of people that went through these camps and met their demise. Everyone knows the name 'Auschwitz' but it was at the 'Birkenau' camp where most were slaughtered. This is where the purpose built gas chambers resided. All that's left today are the remains where they tried to destroy them, before the camps were liberated. We had an excellent guide who covered both camps. It was quite a long tour and included a 45 minute film created from photage that a German soldier had documented as part of his role. Without these I don't think we would have ever understood the horror that took place. I got back around 9:30pm and I couldn't believe it was time to pack again, as tomorrow started with yet another bus journey. 😊 This time my destination was Warsaw.

Warsaw - 18th- 20th August 2015

It was a 5 hour bus journey from Krakow to Warsaw. I'm over the moon to comment, it was clean, comfortable, some WiFi and on time. I got to my accomodation just after 2, the sun had reappeared so shorts and suncream on, I was raring to go. I had missed eating out in Krakow so had decided to grab some lunch in a GF recommended restaurant. It was funny how the capital of Poland, Krakow had only one, where Warsaw gave me a numerous choice. I decided to give La Cantina a try and has it happened it was located just around the corner from where I was based. It had a varied menu taking influence from across Europe with a Mediterranean feel. I plumped for Chek GF Beer with a Turkish pizza. I know, what about Polish cuisine?? 😊 Although now I can understand why the rest of my group enjoyed the food in Turkey. It was gorgeous. Nicely full, it was time to head towards the 'Old Town' which in this case, wasn't that old. 85% of Warsaw had been flattened during World War II but through the hard work and determination of the polish people, they wanted to reinstate what they had lost. They did this to such a standard that UNESCO granted it World Heritage Status in1980. It is an amazing place to be in and I am so glad it was part of my trip. I enjoyed my very brief Krakow visit, but for me Warsaw wins as it is so much larger with definitely more to see. It is so colourful and detailed you just can't take it all in. It's like a really good film you watch over and over and discover something new each time. I wandered right into the evening enjoying the cool vibe of this place and back to La Cantina for some mulled wine! I know it's hot but weather has never impacted my eating or drinking habits luckily and it's one of my favourites, especially when served in something reminiscent of medieval times. The following day I had a different kind of tour booked. A Communism Experience. I got collected in an old style Communist police vehicle where we explored the different impacts that Communism had had, on the various parts of Warsaw. It was really interesting and we got to see some real hidden gems, bullet holes in buildings, a mock up of what a house would have looked like during such a time and a small fresco that's left on an exposed building wall which would have been the internals of a Synogogue. We got to sample polish Vodka and Communism cuisine in a Milk Cafe that still operates in the form of stuffed cabbage with pork, grilled beetroot with pototo and onion. We visited some of the other districts in Warsaw which still have pre-war housing. It was another opportunity to see what this vast place had to offer. To get a perspective on just how vast Warsaw is, I visited the viewing deck in the 'Palace' building. This is not a Royal residence but a term used in Poland to describe a luxurious building. It was a present from Stalin. To me, it resembles Big Ben, only with a larger base. The views from the platform were incredible with Warsaw stretched out in front on all sides. I would definitely like to come back as I feel I have only scratched the surface on this unique area. To finish my Polish tour I'm ashamed to say I ordered Burger and Chips in the place that had fed and watered me the day before. It made a nice change as I very rarely order Burger : ) . I washed it down with some more beer and contemplated the 9 hour bus journey ahead, to begin my next adventure in Germany, starting in Berlin! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 33


Advertisement



20th August 2015

Poland
I knew the rain dance that I did would work ?? Also I knew the Pug eye mask would come in handy! Albeit not to be worn on one's head when shouting at someone ? I can see that he may have thought you were slightly unhinged! Gutted that the bus was so delayed but PT is the worse ? Having been to Krakow I now think Warsaw is a must to visit. Glad you have enjoyed your Polish 'adventure' ? Let's hope the next bus trip goes smoothly. Look forward to hearing about it ??

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb