Day 2 - A laaaazy start


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland
May 2nd 2006
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Normally I awake around 8am, 9amish to nature calling. Busting for the toilet and scampering through to the nearest cubical to release my overnight water fountain. This morning was not to be. All of a sardine my eyes came open and it was 12.40pm. I had just slept through EVERYTHING. After a shower and clean change of clothes I headed outwards in search of a new hostel. The hostel where I was staying thought it would be neat to charge me more than what was meant to. Maybe it was because they wanted to clean the room whilst I was snoring away in my own little world. It didn't take to long to find somewhere cheaper and actually better than where I was staying. This afternoon I took the time to hunt down train and bus info. Seeing as everything is in Polish and the older people all only speak Polish.. it makes it very hard to translate prices and words. Especially I am such a bargain hunter you try translating to a Polish lady that you want to goto Prague and I demand all the possible discounts. I didn't to bad actually.. I managed to understand that for being Under 26 I was eligible for a %40 discount. Damn I'm good.

For dinner it was a dodgy kebab. It tasted great but when I came to the internet cafe to do some typing.... Boy did that Kebab want to come out. It was like a race to the toilet... I probably would have done the 100m sprint faster than a black man on steroids.

The next 2 hours where pretty much agony. I couldn't move anywhere without my stomach getting all angry at me. Never again. Polish Kebab. Never again.

I made my way back to the hostel planning to just lay down and rest... start fresh the next day. Wasn't quite what happened.

I got back to the hostel and went upto my room. The electricity in the room had cut out. I heard a voice say 'Hey.. Sup?'. I thought 'Oh maaa gaaaaawd, its the canadian dood I met in Ireland'. Then I remembered that all Canadian people sound the same so I shouldn't get to excited. With the electricity gone we talked in darkness. He had already been backpacking for a few weeks and had been to the places that I was still heading towards and we talked pretty much about everything. It was amusing to find that we where both heading to Prague in the next few days so we are gonna book tickets for the same train and do the Czech Republic together. As the power was very annoying we headed out and walked about the nightlife of Krakow. A lot of atmosphere was about as we made our way to the other side of town to check out the bus timetables. It was closed. We missed it by about 7 minutes.

The plan for tomorrow is to meet up around 1pmish to go to the German Concentration Camp which is a huuge tourist place. But i've wanted to go for ages. Canadian Guy went to the salt mines this morning, I couldn't be bothered so we r gonna meet at the hostel then head up to the trains.

Anyways there are 2 Dutch people snoring like you would never believe in my dorm. They are quite possibly the worst snorers I have ever heard. Yes dad, worst than you. It must be something to do with people and dutch ancestory!

Goodnight!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



4th May 2006

Tsk Tsk !!
hey dude, glad you're enjoying it so far lol and to think you doubted me about the smoking thing *shakes head*. and shame on you for missing out the salt mines ! lol i'll probably comment more as i read more... but i thought i'd better get it down before i forgot it all =]] Claire x

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb