MONAR- In for an amazing time


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Pomerania » Gdansk
April 11th 2006
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We arrive at the MONAR center. Its a delightful old house. We met all the patients(that's what they call the children there). We are shown around by Michael and Adam who can speak English. Now this MONAR center is a home for recovering drug addcits. These are children who have either tried drugs- hardcore or smoking. They may have experimented or even be addicted. They are rehabilitated at this home. It has very strict rules. and you have to be a part of the house. there are now 23 Children ages 13-21, boys and girls. Its all for 1 and 1 for all. The way the home functions is sooo brilliant but its too much in detail to explain here. but I wish they had this system in India. Some of the unique traits. Chores are divided and everyone has their part to play. If someone has a problem there is an immediate meeting where everyone discusses and gives their views on it. there are also meetings 3 a day. 1 immediately in the morning, afternoon and before bed. Everything is discussed at the meeting. You have no secrets from the group. they believe that only when you share, no longer will you hide from yourself and then you can lead a new drug free life. I witnessed something today, 2 of the patients broke a rule. and it was voted so 1 of them was immediately told to leave. It was quite sad but tha's how the home functions. If someone does something wrong the psychological punishments are severe .there are 2 therapists 24 hours and they change evryday. But actually everyone is a team. so they have various stages of treatment ending at about 14 months. so a new comer is put under an older child. so basically everything here is a like a family. no one talks or reads about drugs, everyone is open and rules are obeyed.
This is about the home. The warmth with which I was recieved was incredible. I couldn't follow most of them because they didn't speak english but we tried very hard, 1 patients mother is from Australia and she transalates for us.
Today was lovely because we got to be part of their schedule. when I say we I mean my partener Onur and I. So we had a typical breakfast and they did chores. I raked leaves. It was interesting. Yes I know I would probarbly grumble if I had to do it everyday, but its interesting after reading about it. there's actually a technique. I'm also learning Polish and In the ecvening I took a walk in the forest with some others to get some dried branches as Easter decorations. Its funny because we are not allowed too cut this and someone saw us and we think called the cops so we had to run back before we were caught. HAHA!! But we had a fun time. But its cold here. 7'C. Even with gloves my fingers were cold. God bless Mama for telling me to put the gloves where I could find them
I just finished dinner and now there are chores which end with a meeting and then we go to sleep.
I know I'm going to have a lovely time here. There is so much for me to learn as well as to teach.

Things I learnt Today:

- No matter what their past and habbits, every individual deserves the right to a better future and a chance at rehabiitation.

- with the right environment everything is possible.

- Even if you are not from the same country or speak the same language, the language of friendship and good will is understood by all

- If you see a polish person calling the Police, run for your lives. Haha!!

Advertisement



12th April 2006

Inspiring thoughts...
THe Things u learnt tdy are inspiring thoughts...

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb