Polish Partyin'


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lower Silesian » Wroclaw
December 15th 2008
Published: December 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

THESE COLORS DON'T RUNTHESE COLORS DON'T RUNTHESE COLORS DON'T RUN

God Bless the USA.
Tis the season for some parties and snowy getaways. I attended my first Polish birthday party early in the month. Michal (Mee-how) turned 23 and hosted a great party. For a Polish birthday, the bday boy/girl is responsible for paying for everyone else's drinks at a bar. They also supply snacks and are to ensure all guests have a lovely time. So I announced that I would NOT be hosting a Polish birthday party. No way am I buying drinks for everyone else on my birthday. Poor Michal was stressed making sure everyone was having fun on HIS birthday.

The Speed school held a teachers' weekend get away in snowy Szcyrk (please note the lack of vowels). The resort was about 7 hours away from Wroclaw and we picked up about 50 other teachers from the 5 other Speed schools along the way. We had a nice dinner, played a trivia game (my team - the idiot savants - did not fare so well), went dancing and then went home. Good times.

Lastly, a few pictures of the school where I work. It takes me about 5 minutes to walk to school, which is quite convenient. The school is
Speed teachers at FuzonSpeed teachers at FuzonSpeed teachers at Fuzon

Michal's bday party. (Adam, Chelsea, Dan)
located on the second floor of building that also houses a tattoo parlor. There is theatre on the other side of the building, which evens out the tattoo riff-raff that comes through.

Stay tuned for a Christmas entry soon....


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Dinner in SzcyrkDinner in Szcyrk
Dinner in Szcyrk

Ryan (teacher working in Gliwice, from New York) and I enjoy some grzaniec (Polish hot wine).
Ladies in front of the treeLadies in front of the tree
Ladies in front of the tree

Jocelyn, Chelsea, Narina
My trivia teamMy trivia team
My trivia team

Simon (Brit), Polish lady, Nick (Brit). I was not happy with my team... They tried to argue that Creedence Clearwater was the song writer for "Rollin' on the River." NO. I told them it was John Fogerty, but they refused to listen. We came in 4th place (out of 7 teams).
Representin'Representin'
Representin'

Omaha and Hollywood. (Ryan talks on his phone a lot, so I call him Hollywood)
Team WroclawTeam Wroclaw
Team Wroclaw

Georgina, Chelsea, Karolina, Iwona, Dan, Karolina, Adam.
Canada:  America's little brotherCanada:  America's little brother
Canada: America's little brother

Two Canucks and 2 Americans in front of the Canadian flag. (Dan, teaches in Opole (Buffalo, NY), Narina, Chelsea, unknown Canadian)
Dance party heats upDance party heats up
Dance party heats up

Ryan, Kasia (secretary in Gliwice), Chelsea at the only Disco in Szcyrk
Szcyrk:  a real placeSzcyrk:  a real place
Szcyrk: a real place

I know you thought I made that name up... Here is proof.
A view from our balconyA view from our balcony
A view from our balcony

Jocelyn, Chelsea, Marshall. The rooms at the resort were decent and had nice balconies.
TeachersTeachers
Teachers

The group gets ready to leave.
Flesh woundFlesh wound
Flesh wound

Unknown teacher hurts face while dancing.
SchoolSchool
School

Speed School of English-Wroclaw. (bookstore below) I walk through the tunnel to get to our door.
SpeedSpeed
Speed

Flags outside the window.


25th December 2008

So, you look kinda goth in front of the American flag. Glad someone is representing the craziness.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb