The (not) castles of Wroclaw


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lower Silesian » Wroclaw
October 19th 2008
Published: October 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

What's this?What's this?What's this?

Oh, not a castle? Looks like a castle to me...
One of the questions in the Callan book I teach out of asks the students "Are there any castles in the town where you live?" The students ALWAYS answer no. Oh, really? I think these pictures tell a different story...

And the much anticipated pictures of my castle - I live on the 3rd floor of a 5-floor block of flats. I live right off the Rynek, behind the Diesel store. Most of the tenants in my building are university students (or old ladies with annoying dogs whose barks echo around the building at 7 am, AWESOME). My flat is a studio and has everything I need - which is what people say when they live in weirdo apartments.

My land-lady doesn't speak much English. Every time I see her she asks if I speak German and usually gives me a bucket. My apartment has been flooded 4 times in the month I've lived in it -once by me (woops) and three times in the same afternoon by my land-lady and the "plumber" (a Chris Farley look-a-like who took off his clothes to sop up some of the floodwater that he caused while "fixing" the water heater). I laid
And this?And this?And this?

Ha! Another Castle! I think I will suspend my grammar lessons until my students fully understand the meaning of the word "castle" and recognize that they have some in Wroclaw.
in bed while they frantically cleaned up.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Walking into my flatWalking into my flat
Walking into my flat

View when I walk in the front door.
Living/Dining/Bed/roomLiving/Dining/Bed/room
Living/Dining/Bed/room

All serve as one. Don't get excited, the TV only gets static. And yeah, that picture over the bed is totally creepy. By the way, the bed is heinously uncomfortable and I couldn't figure out how get it from the couch position to the bed position for a couple of weeks. It was like sleeping in the backseat of a wooden car. Now it's like sleeping on the floor.
My hub of modernityMy hub of modernity
My hub of modernity

I love the the INFORMATION SUPER HIGHWAY. (Please note the street map of Wroclaw hanging on the wall. It doesn't do me a damn bit of good to have it hanging on the wall when I am lost in the city - and yet, I keep it there anyway.)
View from bed.View from bed.
View from bed.

I know, I know, bad picture. But I can't color correct without the program shutting down every time.
Strangely decorated kitchenStrangely decorated kitchen
Strangely decorated kitchen

I didn't realize for a number of weeks that I didn't have an oven... No bother. (Sweet decor, huh!)
ShelfShelf
Shelf

I am sure I will get a lot of use out of the baskets.
CabinetsCabinets
Cabinets

These cabinets contain exactly: 1 bag of oatmeal, some brown rice, beans, sugar, heat treated milk, 1 bowl, 1 plate and instant coffee. (only the best for me)
My fridge's windowMy fridge's window
My fridge's window

The window comes in handy when i want to gaze outside while plucking out my heat-treated milk (which means you can keep in unrefrigerated for many moons)
Where I leisurely eat oatmealWhere I leisurely eat oatmeal
Where I leisurely eat oatmeal

And look at my map of Europe while watching the trams go by.
View from the balconyView from the balcony
View from the balcony

Sometimes I dry laundry out here.
My long, skinny walk-in closet.My long, skinny walk-in closet.
My long, skinny walk-in closet.

My land-lady flooded this 3 times in the span of a few hours.
My maroon bathroomMy maroon bathroom
My maroon bathroom

Notice you have to sit in the bath tub to "shower" - which means it's not a shower at all.
Poorly lit bathroomPoorly lit bathroom
Poorly lit bathroom

I practically get ready in the dark. (and yes, the mirror is that tint in real-life. Not sure why you'd want a dark-tinted mirror)
Strawberry scented TPStrawberry scented TP
Strawberry scented TP

I unknowingly purchased strawberry scented toilet paper.
Dance!Dance!
Dance!

This part of the street represents where you must dance your way across with a smaller friend.


14th November 2008

I hope you realize that the street sign that demands that you dance with a smaller friend is going to be you and me at 3am....in a few months.
24th September 2009

OMG-Dance
Lady, that dance sign made me laugh!! :) It is ridonculous. Glad you put it up along with all the other amaze pics you have on this blog!! :)

Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb