Halloween in Poland


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lower Silesian » Wroclaw
November 8th 2008
Published: November 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Gliwice comes to Wroclaw!Gliwice comes to Wroclaw!Gliwice comes to Wroclaw!

Narina, Nadine and Marshall (not pictured) made the trek to spend Halloween with me. A fun weekend had by all.
Due to harassment from someone who will remain nameless (Bri Keeney), here is the much anticipated Polish Halloween/election installment of my travel blog.

To answer a few questions:

NO, the Poles don't celebrate Halloween. The Poles celebrate All Saints' Day on Nov. 1. The vast majority of Poles spend the day with family traveling to the cemeteries where relatives are buried. This also meant that all the stores and restaurants were closed all weekend, which would have been handy to know beforehand.

NO, I didn't bring a costume with me to Poland so I didn't have one to wear on Halloween. I did not think it would be a prudent choice to pack a suitcase full of props, costumes and practical jokes.

YES, the Poles were interested in the election and for the most part were pro-Obama. They did not know who John McCain was and are very disappointed with George Bush. They are also pleased that Obama had done a European tour in the summer. They hope Obama will ease up on the travel visa for Poles to come to the US. However, they find it unlikely since both Clinton and Bush promised to let Poles visit the US without hassle and did not make good on their words.

YES, I flooded my flat AGAIN. This time it was the kitchen sink. The sink barfed up black sediment/silt stuff off and on for about 8 hours. Then it stopped and has been draining like a dream ever since.

NO, it is not getting cold yet. The sun comes out most days and it often reaches 60 degrees (Fahrenheit, please. I do not speak or think in Celsius). I am excited for the snow and cold.

Otherwise, things are still going well for me here in the land of Jan Pawel II.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Halloween CostumesHalloween Costumes
Halloween Costumes

Nadine, Narina and I went as "pretty ladies" for Halloween.
Expat Halloween PartyExpat Halloween Party
Expat Halloween Party

Some dude and Andy (bald in blue; teaches at Speed school; 41-Newcastle England) at the expatriate Halloween party.
She and He DevilShe and He Devil
She and He Devil

Kristina (Welsh) and Adam (teacher at Speed; 28-Boston) as Ms. and Mr. Devil. Kristina came to visit Adam for a few weeks.
I don't feel comfortable...I don't feel comfortable...
I don't feel comfortable...

discussing Georgina's costume. ???
Speed SchoolSpeed School
Speed School

Beata, former Speed secretary, and Georgina.
Somebody spent way too much time making a costumeSomebody spent way too much time making a costume
Somebody spent way too much time making a costume

Dan (teacher at Speed; 24-Detroit), Adam, Kristina. Dan gave me 2 of his classes to teach so he could dye and sew his costume together one evening...
Superman and Super-flySuperman and Super-fly
Superman and Super-fly

Dan and Marshall (he wears his sunglasses at night).
The only restaurant open on All Saints' DayThe only restaurant open on All Saints' Day
The only restaurant open on All Saints' Day

Unbeknownst to me (or Nadine/Narina/Marshall), nothing would be open after Halloween. So we choked down a nasty lunch at the only restaurant open. And it was expensive. Cool.
Narina and MarshallNarina and Marshall
Narina and Marshall

This picture was taken right before the waitress almost stabbed me in the neck with a knife and fork because she "tripped" next to our table. Likely story.
Tubby Pope StatueTubby Pope Statue
Tubby Pope Statue

I dunno who this is
But I know who they are...But I know who they are...
But I know who they are...

Narina, Chelsea, Nadine
Enjoying the sitesEnjoying the sites
Enjoying the sites

As the head of the Wroclaw neighborhood-watch, I knew exactly where to take my Gliwice crew. It was a perfect day to walk around.
3 ed-ja-ma-ka-ted ladies3 ed-ja-ma-ka-ted ladies
3 ed-ja-ma-ka-ted ladies

in front of Wroclaw University.
Hangin' in the RynekHangin' in the Rynek
Hangin' in the Rynek

Nadine, Narina, Marshall before they left for Gliwice.
American election was front pageAmerican election was front page
American election was front page

The daily metro newspaper on Nov. 4.
Is my job legit?Is my job legit?
Is my job legit?

How I get paid: in an envelope with my name on it and a stack of bills. Sweet.
Fall in WroclawFall in Wroclaw
Fall in Wroclaw

Great weather for taking walks in the many parks.


8th November 2008

excellent
Who said harassment doesn't work? You seem to be responding well to it. Thanks for the blog update!
14th November 2008

I have frequently accidentally "fallen" in an attempt to stab you. I think the waitress deserves a break.

Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb