Warsaw to Krakow


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
August 18th 2006
Published: August 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

August 17


Spent one more day in Warsaw. My dad and I visited a Jewish Cemetery where there was a mass grave from WW II. It was a rather somber experience. Needless to say the gounds were disheveled and needed a lot of work. Teh trees were pushing up the headstones and they were over grown with grass. It was suprising that the Jewish community allows this to happen.

It was on to many more churches and the Warsaw Uprising Musuem. The Warsaw Uprising Museum was built in 1989 after Poland became more open politically. The exhibits told the story of how the Germans killed thousands and thousands of Poles and about how the Russians (theur allies at the time) just stood and watched. They wanted to exterminate all of the Poles and it didn't matter is they were Jews or others.

August 18


Woke up earlier as usual and caught the train to Krakow. I took a nap on the train ride which was a needed rest. Arrived at 12 pm and walked to our hostel in the hot, hot weather. Dad and I were both happy to sit down for lunch.

After lunch we walked around Krakow and saw a lot of Catholic churches. Suprise, suprise. There are more Catholic Churches in Poland than in Spain. 95%!o(MISSING)f the Polish population is Catholic and 75%!i(MISSING)s practicing. I think I have prayed more in one day than I have prayed all year. Not really, but you get the idea.

Tonight was very realxed with a walk around the square in Krakow which is the largest in Europe. A very relaxing evening with some window shopping.

Tomorrow brings a 5 hour leisure bike ride in and around the town. Discovering a new city by bike is one of my most favorite things to do. I think I will buy a road bike when I get home!


Update


On Monday, Dad and I will drive to Slotowa, Poland with a translator to meet our relatives. Many thanks to Joe Lukawski and Aunt Jan. This is going to be a very memorable experience for my dad and me.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb