End of 3rd week of Polish lessons


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
April 21st 2006
Published: April 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Renata's CatRenata's CatRenata's Cat

Oh he's a beauty, isn't he.
Well, I have to say, I'm making slow progress here. Slowly making progress? Which sounds better??

Everyday when I learn a new thing (or new things), I think -- dang it, why didn't I know this earlier! For instance, we learned about how to do time sequences two days ago:

How to say, for example,"first I wake up, then I brush my teeth".
And something "in morning", something "at noon", something "in the after noon", and something "in the evenings".

Had I known this stuff a few days earlier, I could've perhaps potentially possibly likely asked for the proper train/bus tickets for my Easter trip and not been such a mess. Maybe I could've asked,

"after this train, another train?"

Oh, and I only learned how to pronounce the word for "train" today. It's spelled something like pociąg (in the nominative case, there are 6 other cases??) and it sounds like po-chung ??

Like something bouncing off the wall in Tron! ;-)


And today we covered the actual clock times. Yeah, doing clock times is almost a whole chapter by itself. It's not as simple as Chinese or English where you just say the number and then tag on another word.

In Chinese it's 1 dyn, 2 dyn, 3 dyn, ...
In English it's 1 o'clock, 2 o'clock, 3 o'clock, ...

In Polish it's ... different. But fear not, I have made flashcards. Now as I trek to and from home, in rain and snow, I can pull out the numbers and mumble to myself.


Once again, not feeling that inspired to write. I'm tired and hungry and should head home. I have a sudden craving for ethnic food,

Indian, Japanese, Korean, Mexican, Chinese, Ethiopian... Oh that would be nice, a big fat plate of the veggie special from Cafe Calucci... Doesn't matter, just something spicy and hot. But, unfortunately for me, I will be heading home and making my own food because I am massively over budget already for this trip. :~(


Pretty soon I will be asking for donations.

PS. I leave you with a photo of Smakus the cat!

Advertisement



25th April 2006

cat
that cat looks like it went through some toaster size washer and dryer.
25th April 2006

Smakus is special
I forget what the species name was, but he's got really short and curly hair and he doesn't shed. When I first saw him, I asked Renata if she had cut his hair. He always looks wet, too. Mostly even tempered, and definitely the runt.

Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb