Krakow (July 4-7)


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
July 14th 2005
Published: July 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I was in Krakow, Poland for the usual 3 day visit and I didn't lose anything. Again, there were a lot of tourists but the city is amazing, not as big as Prague but that's good for getting around. I stayed in a hostel on the old town square which is one of the biggest in Europe (the square, not the hostel). It was a great location because I could sit in the window and just watch all the activity in the square. It was a little more difficult for me because there's not a lot of English spoken, even in the train station but I managed somehow. Unfortunately, the Polish lesson I received from Pola wasn't enough to get by 😊

I spent one day visiting the 700+ year-old salt mines in the nearby town of Wieliczka, which is more than just a mine (see pictures) Another rainy day was spent visiting the Auschwity concentration camp. That was quite a sombre experience and really hits home when you see the living quarters and the original belongings of the prisoners. It would have been nice to spend another day or two in Krakow because I didn't see as much of the actual city as I wanted but I was eager to get to the next stop.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Huge underground cathedral in salt minesHuge underground cathedral in salt mines
Huge underground cathedral in salt mines

Everything is made of rock salt, even the chandeliers.
Traditional musiciansTraditional musicians
Traditional musicians

With some drunk locals behind them.
Young buskersYoung buskers
Young buskers

These kids were pretty amazing musicians. I watched them for a few hours.
Auschwitz 1Auschwitz 1
Auschwitz 1

The original concentration camp.
Auschwitz BirkenauAuschwitz Birkenau
Auschwitz Birkenau

The bigger camp with train station.


14th July 2005

Great Photos
I am planning a trip to poland next spring, your photos make me wish I was going next month!
25th July 2005

Birds...
No peacocks, but pidgeons will do.
5th July 2006

alrite
i been all those places twas mega

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0916s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb