Vienna & Klagenfurt (July 11-17)


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
July 25th 2005
Published: July 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

On to Austria. I had planned to meet up with my roommate James in Austria since he is taking a German course in the town of Klagenfurt. I first spent 3 days in Vienna, just in time for a bunch of rain, which kind of takes away from the experience. I was also getting to the point where I had enough of seeing the big cities and wanted to spend more time in the countryside and the smaller towns. However, I stayed at a pretty fun hostel and ran into a couple of guys there that I had met in Prague so we hung out a bit. I also checked out a couple of decent museums to get out of the rain. Im not much of an art buff but I actually enjoyed seeing some of the paintings from the old masters, particularly the Dutch and Flemish artists. On the third day, the weather seemed okay in the morning so I took a train to a village called Payerbach hiked up a mountain...it was pouring by the time I got to the top. Its a beautiful area but unfortunately I couldnt see anything from the top because of the weather.

The train ride from Vienna to Klagenfurt is spectacular. I had a great time in Klagenfurt. It's a smaller city in the southern part of Austria with a nice lake. I crashed on the floor of James' dorm room and met th some international students as well as some locals. The weather was fabulous for the most part so I got to take advantage of some of the best things that Klagenfurt has to offer: swimming, beach volleyball, biking, and scenery. It was great to do some physical activities besides walking around and Im trying to do some more of that.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

MuseumMuseum
Museum

I forget the name of it but I saw all the paintings there
Payerbach valleyPayerbach valley
Payerbach valley

Near the start of my hike
Worther SeeWorther See
Worther See

Klagenfurt
Klagenfurt beach pierKlagenfurt beach pier
Klagenfurt beach pier

More speedos than I care to see


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb