Auschwitz-Berkenau


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Auschwitz
May 20th 2007
Published: December 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We woke up early again today, to finish the other half of our concentration camp tour. Yesterday, I learned a lot from our tour. Seeing with my own eyes, the buildings and places where many people died just touched me greatly. Today had an even greater impact on me because the camp we visited today was where most of the people were executed, it’s actually known as the extermination camp.
In planning on where we wanted go, Abby and I had to think of a place in which it would give us spiritual enlightenment. We picked Poland because it contained these concentration camps. Not only were Jews killed here, but many Jehovah’s Witnesses as well. This place had four gas chambers that resembled showers. Hundreds of people were forced into a concrete building and the only thing that those building contained were shower heads. People thought that they were being given the chance to take a shower, but no water came out; only gas. When we got the chance to go in there, I almost cried, because as I looked around the building, I saw so many nail scratches in the concrete wall that it made me so sad. The people wanted to get out so bad that they made imprints in the wall! More than 20,000 people, men, women, and children, were killed every single day! I can’t believe people could do that! How can you do that as a job? I can’t even imagine how people could kill people like that with no remorse, it just disgusts me. I learned that no one knows the actual number of how much people were killed, total; but authorities say that it’s guaranteed to go beyond two million.
This really is the climax of our trip, I think. We think life is hard today in this world, but when I think about it, I don’t think I’d endure more than a few days at the Auschwitz-Berkenau camp. Visiting this place made me realize how much people had to trust in each other and in god, in order to get out. Every place we toured, every building just made me wonder how anyone could do this to innocent people. I just get irritated thinking about it.
If you get the chance to visit Europe, make sure you visit this place. It’s not only worth your time, but it’s worth your life.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb