Norway, wow


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway
August 4th 2014
Published: August 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So, I'm sat here having had danish bacon in a Norwegian campsite for tea. This is quite possibly the coolest most serene place I have ever been to. It's amazing.

We started the day getting over the ridiculous heat in the otherwise serviceable and quite pleasant room in Aarhus. All surprisingly cheap. A forty quid room, fifteen quid for tea at the Turkish restaurant and one pound twenty a litre for fuel, Denmark is pretty economical. It is however just like home rd didn't feel much like being holiday. We headed north the Hirtshals to catch the 'supercat'service to Norway. It apparently holds the Atlantic speed record for a boat. I thought this would be good. I was wrong. This is quite bad......

The journey there was straightforward, the town itself pretty well....ok and check in was....easy. (yes folks, Denmark is nice, just nice and easy and pleasant, nothing more so far) and we got on the ferry ready to set sail at five. After a bit of a 'oh my god did I measure it right' moment getting on the ferry ( it was fine, we had at least three cm clearance....) We found a seat and a lack of Wi-Fi signal. We left at a great pace, pretty much supersonic compared to the cross channel ferry but generalised that made for a more turbulent ride, especially when the captain told us of 'one metre and a half waves because of the bestseller' if wasn't lying. It was rough. We were grey, they handed out free biscuits and sick bags, people wobbled, the windows got wet. All kinds of bad things but for only two and a half hours, it wasn't so bad. ( I can say that now) we disembarked, confused about the lack of passport checks and headed up north, further than either of us have ever been. And it is amazing. So utterly beautiful and serene. The campsite at Moen is stunning and I can't wait to post pictures when I'm not on limited internet. I can't even see any bugs. Or moose despite the signs promising me they're here. Roll on Oslo tomorrow.

Things I learnt.1. All of Denmark is just, well, nice
2. Denmark is pretty cheap wherever you go
3.catamarans are fast, real fast
4. But they also make people grey and a bit sick.
5. There's every possibility that we'll be arrested by the Norwegian police tomorrow for failing to say tolls as we reallocatedt got a clue how to or where to. Oh well, I'm sure they're really nice people!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb