Across the country and back again.


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Flåm
September 17th 2009
Published: September 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Again, I have been quite lazy when it comes to writing blogs (thank god I can roll the date back on this site 😊 The past few days have been very full. Thursday I took a train from Oslo to Bergen, on the west coast of the country. Norway actually reminds me a bit of Vermont with all the trees and mountains (did I already say this in a previous entry?) The main difference is the number of ponds and lakes. It´s really quite beautiful, especially considering that I´ve been fortunately enough to have beautiful weather for much of the week (typing with one hand and knocking on wood with the other.)

The train ride from Oslo to Bergen took about 7 hours, however I got off the train in a mountain town called Myrdal to take a train down into Sognefjord and into Flåm. Sognefjord is Norway´s longest (120 miles) and deepest (over a mile.) The sights are so spectacular that one guidebook I read when I was planning this trip simply stated that if you go to Norway and don´t see the fjord, you´re passport should be revoked. A boat also runs into the fjord, around and back to Voss, a few miles closer to Bergen (and predominantly a ski town), but in the interest of time I (somewhat regretfully now that I think of it), took the train back up to Myrdal and onto Bergen.

In any case, the train ride was beautiful... several waterfalls, bodies of water, glaciers, and rocky mountain sides. And with that, I´ll shut up and just move onto posting pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Best line from the fat, old Texan on the train:Best line from the fat, old Texan on the train:
Best line from the fat, old Texan on the train:

"I wonder how they get them there tractors up there to mow?"
Sun shining through...Sun shining through...
Sun shining through...

This is high up in the mountains- lots of hikers and climbing trips. I think I´ll just stay on the train, thanks :)


I finally figured out how to evade writing titles!


Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb