Tourist time in Bergen and our trip to Stavanger.


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Bergen
July 14th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

FloyenFloyenFloyen

At the top of Floyen after riding the funicular to the top
My parents arrived Friday night. After meeting them in the city around 10pm we walked up the hill to my dorm. Nothing like a 30 minute hike after over 24hours of flying. After catching up and unpacking a bit, we decided to go to bed early. There was only one problem, three people and one twin bed. Our resolution: my parents slept head to foot in my twin sized bed, and I slept of a $7 pool mattress brought from Phoenix. It was quite comfy actually, and everyone seemed to get a full night's rest.

Saturday morning we awoke to the sun shining. We had a quick breakfast and headed into the city. I tried to cram all the highlights into one day in Bergen. They are as follows...

90 minute walking tour of Bryggen, and two museums (suggested by my mom) - great!

Shopping in Bryggen for souvenirs

Walking through the Fshmarket- We all had a chance to try whale meat, reindeer, and fresh shrimp.

Floibanen funicular railway to the top of Floyen. Beautiful views and a wonderful hike down. We picked blueberries on our way.

Spaghetti dinner made in my dorm kitchen. We ate up on the 7th floor balcony overlooking the water.

All in all, we walked about 13 miles that day!

On Sunday we traveled to Stavanger, and to the hostel near the hike to Preikestolen. We traveled five hours by bus, 30 minutes by ferry, and another 35 minutes by bus to reach our final destination. We settled into the hostel. Dad and I took a walk around the lake a played a few card games, while my mom headed to bed early. After my dad went to bed, I read for about an hour and then went to bed early myself.

This morning we woke up bright and early, ate breakfast, and headed out hiking. It took about 2 hours to reach the top. The hike was quite different than I did it last time because it was sprinkling lightly. The rocks were a bit slippery, but we made it to the top for spectacular views. I am glad that I got another chance to hike here. It was just as beautiful as before. We took some pictures out on the rock and looked over the edge, but we didn't stay for long because the rain
Viking Ship CrossectionViking Ship CrossectionViking Ship Crossection

Notice that this is just the width of the viking ship...not the length!
started to come down harder. We took another 2 hours to get down the hike. We reached the hostel with enough time to shower and catch the bus. In Stavanger we caught an earlier bus back to Bergen. Back in my dorm we packed for the rest of our trip. I won't be back to Bergen until the day I fly home. Time has gone by so quickly.

I will add more details later, and entries of our other destinations. I'm not sure when will have internet so it may be a while.

Ha det,
Allison





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Mom and IMom and I
Mom and I

We were ready to start our hike!


21st July 2008

Looking over the edge
So did your mom look over the edge on her belly? I'm glad you are up and running and enjoying your time with your parents. Have fun!
1st August 2008

Bergen is beautiful
We had such a lovely time visiting Allison in Bergen. Bryggen is picturesque and we did try Minke Whale at the fishmarket. A bit unusual. . .it didn't taste like chicken! She forgot to add that her Dad and I jumped on the trampoline on the way down Floyen. My sisters will be proud that I hiked Preikestolen and stood right on the edge. . .high altitude sickness?

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb