An anticlimax - Vuku to Stiklestad


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Trøndelag
July 18th 2018
Published: July 19th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I'm not sure what I expected from today's walk. I knew it was only about 10 km to get to Stiklestad, and that the road passed the fields where Olav's army rested on the night before they went into battle at Stiklestad. More recently, a massive earth slip one night killed over 100 people in their sleep, a national disaster for Norway.

What I wasn't expecting was the smoke haze drifting across the mountains from the bushfires in Sweden. I had read the news reports about the concerns about fire danger in the areas where I was going to walk, and it was regularly mentioned along the way that it was unseasonably hot. So it should not have been a surprise, but it was a little disturbing to realize this was coming from places close to where I had walked.

I think I must have missed a turn right at the end, because I seem tocome in through the back entrance. Not that it made much difference other than once I had checked in, I had to retrace my steps a few hundred metres to the pilgrim's guest loft.

Rest Day




I rested. That included wandering around the folk museum, visiting the recreation of a viking long house, catching up with some sleep and doing some planning for the next leg of my pilgrimage. And lots of sitting in comfy chairs in the hotel to get access to the wifi.

Advertisement



21st July 2018

Interesting Historical Fact
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Stiklestad

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 32; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb