The new campsite!


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Steinsholt
April 19th 2019
Published: September 11th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Brufoss-Hælvetehølen

Had to walk twice to get everything with me without breaking my back, and took a short-cut across some harved fields.

IMG_9173IMG_9173IMG_9173

Hælvetehølen(Hell hole), a secluded bathing and hiking place, close to the village of Svarstad.
Day 25, 19.04.19. Friday.

Moved my camp to a much more secluded location wednesday, was too tired to write anything for a few days because I've had fever at night since I spent the first night in my sleepingbag. And that was cold! The relocation of my camp took me the whole day as well and I was way too tired to move the last 5-600 meters to the current location. Have just rested and been eating a lot since I got here. I wonder how much I weigh? Must have lost a few kilos during the illness-period.

Anyway, moved my camp to a location where I used to swim and play as a child, it's got a local history as a timber-floating river. The timber usually got stuck here in a huge bundle at the bottom of the waterfall so the workers here called this area for Hælvete-hølen(Hell-hole) because it was really difficult to loosen the cluster. The name stuck and has been used since the late 1700s I believe. It's really beautiful here, a lot of different butterflies, birds, elk, skink and I think I spotted a lynx here the first day. Going to take a lot of nature-pictures before I leave, but I'm staying till I'm positive I can move on north. The illness set me back at least 2 weeks and need to use the time to chill out and maybe do some panning when it's hot outside.

Today is the first day I haven't used my outer jacket, the weather is warmer than I can remember it's ever been this month. Did the much needed laundry as well. I walk barefeet to keep them dry, but always look for glass, vipers or stinging insects. I try to avoid stepping on the creatures that I spot as well, I have very high respect for nature. I believe that all creatures have a sense of self, the conciousness as we call it. So when being aware of that, it gets really hard to hurt another creature, at least from my perspective.

One of my friends is going to meet me at a forest belt called Finnskogen in approximately one month, and there we're going to have a traditional philosophy together as we always do when we hang out, a lot of topics that I think is very interesting to dwell on. Like the nature
IMG_9175IMG_9175IMG_9175

The waterfall at Hælvetehølen
of conciousness, the meaning of life, what happens after death etc. Looking forward to it 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

IMG_9186IMG_9186
IMG_9186

A small lizard, I spotted it sunbathing in the morning before I walked the rest of the way towards my next campground.
IMG_9187IMG_9187
IMG_9187

Finally here!
IMG_9193IMG_9193
IMG_9193

This poor tree served as a stative for drying my laundry. It wasn't hurt in any way, just lost a bit of sunlight a few days a week.


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb