Oslo day 1


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
June 24th 2010
Published: June 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Today was the start of my Oslo trip, and most of the day was quite boring. First I sat on the train to Eindhoven for hours, then on the plane for hours, then on a bus for hours. Traveling, and thus sitting, consumed most of the day, but getting to Oslo was worth it.

The first step was getting from Maastricht to Eindhoven, just like the other time I flew. Once at the Eindhoven train station, I had to take a bus to Eindhoven airport, check in, go through security, and sit around for an hour and half waiting for my flight. They had us start boarding the plane early, which was nice. It was a smooth two-hour flight to Oslo Rygge airport, and we arrived a rather surprising thirty minutes ahead of schedule. From there, I was not sure at all of my options for getting to Oslo, since the airport was roughly an hour away. I talked to the person at the information desk and ended up getting on a bus for the drive to Oslo. Once there, I had to find the tourist information place to get an Oslo pass and a map. Since I had no idea where I was going, I went in progressively larger circles with the bus station at the center. About four blocks away, I found one of the two tourist information centers, bought an Oslo pass, and got a map. The Oslo pass is a pass good for a certain amount of time that gives the holder free access to the metro, trams, busses, boat rides, and museums around Oslo. I also got directions to my hotel, which after a certain amount of looking, I found. After dinner, I headed out and walked along the water for awhile, and went through the grounds of Akershus Castle, which were open late that night. After that, it was time to get as much rest as possible, before the museum marathon begins tomorrow.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb