Oslo


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
August 1st 2009
Published: August 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

ball room!ball room!ball room!

best fun ever!
Just thought I should post a small update on the short cruise I went on with my family to Oslo from the 28th til the 30th of July!
On Tuesday (28/07), my host family and I went on a cruise to the beautiful Norwegian city of Oslo. It was an overnight journey on the cruise ship to Oslo, where we spent one day looking around the harbour and the shops, before reboarding the ship and travelling back home to Copenhagen.
The ship was nice, with several bars, nightclubs, pools, spas, and my personal favourite; the kid's play room full of colourful balls! We boarded the ship at around 4:30pm on Tuesday, and after farewelling Copenhagen from the front deck, we headed down to a huge buffet dinner.
Completely bloated, my host sister (Helene) and I went to explore the rest of the ship after dinner. We sussed out the best club, then went to get ready to get our dance on. Unfortunately, our 'nap' after dinner turned into an extended sleep, and we didnt wake up until 8am the next morning, when we were in Norway.
After waking on Wednesday, we enjoyed the picturesque scenery of Norway from our breakfast table, before disembarking the ship and walking into the charming city of Oslo. We investigated the shops, before enjoying the sun on the main harbour. We dined at T.G.I.Friday which was (surprisingly) incredibly good! Helene and I then explored the shopping mall, while Grethe and Lars (my host parents) looked at boats and soaps.
Meeting back on the ship that afternoon, we shared experiences of Norway and my host family gave me a Norwegian shotglass (I'm collecting shotglasses from every city i visit!). We enjoyed a late dinner, then Helene and I hit the clubbing scene. Unfortunately, the DJ was so bad I wished I had stayed in bed. Not losing hope, Helene and I scoured the boat for something better to do. After going to every single bar at least twice, we gave up hope. The night was not a complete failure though, as I got to finally go in the kid's ball room!! Those three minutes were definitely the highlight of the trip.
Arriving back in Copenhagen on Thursday morning, I was tired but so happy to have seen such a gorgeous city. I hope to visit it again sometime and get to see even more of it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb