Norway xmas 08


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
January 7th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So Christmas and New Year in Norway, it's going to be a real challenge to do this trip justice in this blog. A cold climate but a warm welcome.

23rd of December,
Little Christmas Eve in Norway, after landing in torp I travelled by coach to Sandvika where I met up with Uncle John, Cousin Eric and the family. A brief stop at the house and we were on the road again this time heading South to Holden for christmas with the Boe and Finden families (Eric's Granparents and aunt and uncle).

That evening we were having dinner with friends of Anne-Mette (Eric's mother) Mette and Bengt-Eric, who became know effectionately as Bent-Eric for the remainder of the trip. I was served a few things that I was unfamiliar with the main course being a traditional dish that we would refer to in England as rice pudding but with the addition of a hidden nut in one bowl and a prize for one lucky guest (guess who that was).
As well as the rice pudding later in the evening the caberet came out although not the sort of caberet you're thinking of. This cabaret was a food that consisted of egg and vegtables in a clear jelly shaped like a huge polo. This was then eaten on bread with cream on top. I've never really thought of myself as a fusy eater but I'll be honest and say that I didn't really enjoy this particular Norwegian delicacy.

After dinner Bent-Eric took myself and Cousin Eric aside and showed us some boating publications that he had been writing for. He also showed us pictures of him crashing a new speed boat into some rocks during a test drive. After the boat magazines he moved onto the Norwegian equivalent of our FHM or Maxim. Very nice ladies I agreed as he flicked through excitedly. Later I asked Cousin Eric what he wrote for these magazines.
"Oh nothing," Eric Replied "I think he just thought we'd like to see them." Good old Bent-Eric.

That night I also enjoyed my first taste of Aquavit a spirit much drunk in Norway during the christmas season. Really there's only three things you need to know about Aquavit, it's made from potatoes, it's strong and it's disgusting (oh and it's also useful to know that while it is served in a shot glass it is supposed to be sipped not shot a mistake that I made).

The evening ended with myself and Cousin Eric taking part in the Abba version of singstar on the PS2 with the twins (Torstein and Ingvild aged 15) and Mette and Bent-Eric's daughter (name forgotten aged 15 I think).
All in all it was a pretty classy night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb