Some Things You Might Not Have Known About Norway


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
August 15th 2008
Published: August 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

While the drama of our ongoing computer problems continues to unfold, I thought I'd interrupt with a few observations of Norway and its people that I've found unexpected, confounding, alarming, somehow notable:

1. It rains in Oslo 366 days a year
2. Taxis are for the most part Mercedes, though a few are Volvos, for the cheapskates
3. Norwegian pizza smells distinctly different from American pizza and the smell permeates most buildings
4. Jack Daniels costs about $0.11/mL, coffee about $0.67/oz, and I won't even mention the price of gas
5. Norwegian Salvation Army thrift stores (called Fretex) are run more like vintage clothing boutiques, with the prices to match
6. Still haven't seen a Chinese restaurant, plenty of Vietnamese, Indian, Thai, and Turkish food though.
7. Norwegians drink the most coffee per capita of any nationality in Europe yet they must have the fewest public bathrooms

More to come eventually (see previous post)...

Dan

Advertisement



15th August 2008

Love the travel Blog
I really love your Travel Blog. It's like getting a letter; remember those? When I see an update, it's the first thing I click on in my e-mail. It is fun hearing about all the little things that are so different than what we are accustomed to. Keep them coming. I am a big fan.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb