Day 2 in Oslo


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
July 24th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Blog SpotBlog SpotBlog Spot

There is a little living room commons at the top of our hotel -- so I set up here for a few wee hours waiting for Nancy and Tina to wake up. As you can see, I have all the necessary geek gear at my finger tips -- flat screen TV, PC and Norwegian cell phone.
What is a person to do when it seems very much like morning at 3 AM local time? Get up and get bloggin', of course! My day started a bit early but was backed up with a nice afternoon nap. Here are a few of the things we did in between...

Having just wrapped their own tour of Norway with Pacific Lutheran Univ, Nancy's parents joined us today just after noon. Nancy is here on a working vacation this week and last, so Tina, her grandparents and I fended for ourselves for the afternoon -- rather well I might say.

Later in the evening an old friend, Siri, stopped by the hotel with her partner Christin -- to fetch Siri's nearly lifetime supply of American shampoo and to treat Nancy and me to a little utepils (outside beer) just around the corner. Unfortunately I don't have any photos from this part of the day but MUST write about it nonetheless because, much to my glee, Siri reports that my Norwegian has improved since last summer. Hooray!!!!

And finally -- just a little navigation tip about this travel blog. If you double click on the picture to the right,
The Weather Cooperates NicelyThe Weather Cooperates NicelyThe Weather Cooperates Nicely

After Don and Doril get settled in our hotel, we walk down a few blocks to Carl Johansgate to enjoy a little lunch outdoors.
a window with the photo enlarged will pop up and you'll be able to see easily all the text for each picture. Using the numbers at the top left of the pop-up window, you can navigate to the others pictures which are numbered 1, 2, 3, etc.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Three Generations of EllertsonsThree Generations of Ellertsons
Three Generations of Ellertsons

Nancy joins us in the late afternoon as we arrive at Vigelandsparken -- where we take in the amazing granite and bronze Vigeland sculptures. I must admit this part of the day was completely my idea. Everything going well here but see next picture for what happens about 15 minutes later!
Mother Nature Loves It Here In Oslo!Mother Nature Loves It Here In Oslo!
Mother Nature Loves It Here In Oslo!

We withstood a soaking rain while in Vigelandsparken -- sharing 3 umbrellas between the 5 of us. Here, as you can see, Nancy and her Dad, being all around good sports, enjoy the briefly inclement weather.


25th July 2007

God dag fra Lodi
So sweet to see and hear about your trip! I'm just back from BG and no one was there and now I know where they all went! :) Have fun! Hugs to you all, Jen
25th July 2007

Oslo
Wow, what a great trip. I remember visiting this park on every visit to Oslo. In 1979, I was there with Mom and Dad on a somewhat overcast day like this. C
26th July 2007

Great photos! I didn't realize Nancy's parents were with a PLU tour. Must be grads from there? I know a women in the admissions office who is a sister of an attorney in my office. Have fun! We finally got a little break in our sweltering heat - even a few drops of rain - of course, weatherman Bob had to explain what it was - it's been a long dry 6 weeks or so. Hugs. Lain
26th July 2007

Commenting on these fine comments!
I guess it is ask and ye shall receive in the bloguniverse. Thanks! Yes, Nancy and her Dad are both PLU grads. Maybe you should find a photo or two from the 1979 trip, Cynthia, and scan it and send it to me so I can add it to my blog.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb