Oslo


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
June 2nd 2007
Published: June 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arrived at the train station in Oslo at 6am and had a couple of hours to kill. Went to the Internet Café, and then decided to make my way towards the boat port. I stopped at my hostel, but reception didn’t open until 10, so I moved on to the pier. I saw people buying fresh fish from 3 fishermen’s boats. I wonder what time they went out. 3am? I wonder how much money they make doing this.
Took a public ferry to the Bygdoy peninsula, where there are some museums. To my surprise, it was turning out to be a nice day, sun shining and all! I went to the Viking Ship Museum, which was awesome! There were 3 viking ships from around 900 A.D., which were re-discovered and excavated late 1800’s, early 1900’s. It’s amazing how well they’ve lasted- the boats, plus some other items. They give an interesting glimpse into Viking life. They even had what they thought to be a Viking Iron. Like, clothes iron!! Look, mom!! I guess you’re not the only one. I can just imagine Viking mom “You’re not leaving this house until your animal skin is pressed straight! I can still see wrinkles!” lol….
Next, I went walking to the Kon-Tiki Museum, which I was keen on seeing since I read Fatu Hiva and Kon-Tiki back in high school and absolutely loved them! Looking back, I wonder if those books are what sparked my interest in anthropology. The museum was pretty interesting. I especially liked how nice and compact all the museums in Oslo were turning out to be. Sometimes, I hate huge museums, because it’s just like where do you stop? How much can you see in one day? I know when Nikki and I were in New York, I fell in love with the Met, but seriously, I could go there everyday for a week, and still not feel like I’ve seen half the stuff in that museum. These museums were nice because they were so small and compact--since they only dealt with one subject.
After ferrying back to the mainland, I walked to the Royal Palace. Unlike the White House, barred behind fences, the gate to the Royal Palace was open and you could walk all around the grounds. I got to see the changing of the guards! Although, I saw some talking to the tourists, so I don’t think they’re as stone-faced as the British are. It was still cool to watch. I noticed on the map that I was near Oslo University, so I decided to see if I could fin a bookstore. I found the college, but it was super small and I didn’t see any bookstore. Don’t they know what kind of revenue they’re missing out on? Let a family like the Kribs descend on a university bookstore, and they’ll spend $200 in 20 minutes!! That’s just hypothetical, of course. J Around this time, I decided to get some lunch and lay out in a park—I had really lucked out because today was “Oslo Musicfest” a one day music fest where they had 10-15 stages set all over the city and different bands playing all day. I stopped at a deli for a calzone and apples, then I saw a fruitstand selling straight from the farm cherries and strawberries. Perfect! I had my sleepsheet with me, so I just spread it out, munching and listening to the music. I even napped for an hour or two! There were pop, punk, rock bands playing, pretty good even if I couldn’t understand what they were saying. The best thing about the musis fest is that is was FREE! My favourite word J I spent the rest of the day walking and lounging around. Near the pier, they had all these steps leading to the water and a band playing on a boat. Great! Then I started heading to the hostel, stopping in another park where there was techno playing. Tons of people there, all around my age, grilling out and drinking. It made me sorry I didn’t know anyone! After showering at the hostel (which was a really nice one, by the way, and I only saw one hooker outside the street that night, despite a few disturbing reviews on hostelworld.com) I went wandering around again. I love the fact that it’s light out until after 11:30pm, because that definitely made me feel safer wandering around the city at night. I found a country/bluegrass band that was really good- it was funny because they sang in perfect English with a country twang, but then would speak in Norwegian between songs! Then I found a stage where a rock band was playing and they were selling beer. Perfect! Now I’m on my way to London…to the great unknown!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



27th June 2007

My relatives
Heather, I am soooo glad you are well. Those are my relatives, I am a viking ya know. I do envy you. Be safe, be home when the street lights go on. lol. - love you, patricia

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb