Bruges!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
December 12th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello again friends and family! Again, I am so sorry it's been a while since I've blogged. Once I got back from the last two weeks of travel, final projects and papers and exams hit me. Now That I have time to breath though, I'll do some quick blogs about my last three adventures!!!

The weekend of November 15th and 16th Kelsey and I went to Bruges in Belgium. It was only a two day weekend for me because on Friday all of the World Drama students went to Eindhoven to watch a Dutch production of Taming of the Shrew. Which, sidenote, was the absolute CRAZIEST production I have ever seen. Our teacher had told us how typical Dutch theater is experimental for America, and we didn't quite believe him. Well, I do now. Anyway, Saturday Kelsey and I left early for Bruges. It was about a four hour train ride and then we went the wrong direction to get to our hostel but we got there eventually! After we plopped our things in the hostel, we went to the main town square. Bruges really does look like a fairytale place. The buildings are all so cute and colorful and the square has a giant bell tower and is surrounded by cafes and statues. We went to the bell tower and then picked out a spot for dinner. We had some delicious Belgian beer and Belgian waffles, along with actual food. Then we explored the rest of the town. There isn't much to do in Bruges except admire the town, but we came in knowing that. Bruges is well known for three things; chocolate shops, lace shops and Jesus' blood. Yes, Bruges is the home to the Chapel of Christ's blood, where there is a vile in which is a cloth that has Jesus' blood on it. We saw this the following morning. That night we went into lots of chocolate shops and a lot of knick knack stores and continued to wonder the streets. The next morning like I said we went to see Jesus' blood. Then we hopped on a train back to Well. It was a nice, relaxing weekend.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

FORT!FORT!
FORT!

When Kelsey and I got back, the three roommates decided to make a giant fort that not only took up almost all of the space in the room but also stayed up for about three days.


Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb