Another week....


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
July 9th 2005
Published: July 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hague/Scheveningen Bike TourHague/Scheveningen Bike TourHague/Scheveningen Bike Tour

Chillin' at the beach, watching the sunset, and sipping on an ice cold Heineken. Life's been worse!
Ah, yes...another week has gone by out of my 6 month assignment. I'm starting to realize how fast the time is going (I'm halfway done with my 6 months already), and even though I can't wait to get back home and have REAL Mexican food and veg on my couch in front of my big screen, it'll be kinda sad to leave behind the Plein, the beers, all my new friends, etc. etc. Hmm..food for thought.

Anyways, back to the adventures of the week:

Monday was my day of rest, still recuperating from Rock Werchter. Truth be told, I was tired all week, but no rest for the weary here!

On Tuesday, I took a bike tour of the Hague with some Shell network folks. We started off at Hague Centraal Station and rode for 2 hours out to a nice part of Scheveningen with the famous grassy dunes and a nice beach sunset. We had dinner and drinks at a little place with a pretty cool owner. When he missed one girl's salad on the order, he spelled out 'SORRY!' in cheese, and then proceeded to DJ classic oldies like Lionel Richie - Dancing on the Ceiling,
Wednesday Dinner NightWednesday Dinner NightWednesday Dinner Night

The smiles would indicate that the dish with the cigarette butt has not yet made it to the table!
Michael Jackson, Everly Brothers, etc. etc. Dad, I kept thinking I was in the back seat of 'Grandma' (our old '89 Camry) on a road trip as a kid! I guess the only thing missing was an off-key rendition of Unchained Melody!

Wednesday was a dinner night at Ramna, which used to be a cool thing until we found a cigarette butt in one of the dishes. Hmmm...time for a new curry joint! I'm still shocked at how calmly everybody took it. Instead of comping the dish or even the whole meal, the guys just said 'sorry' and then brought out an extra large serving of the previously tainted dish. Guess that's just another difference between American and European concepts of restaurant service! I wanted to freak out, but since nobody else seemed bothered...no point in pushing the issue. Even though it's normal, there were absolutely no qualms in leaving a 0% tip that night! Afterwards, more beers on the Plein. I chose a 8.5% Duvel and a 6.6% Leffe Blonde, which was plenty to get the job done for the evening. Man, it's gonna suck going back to 3% Bud Light!

Thursday was poker night, which I'm
Ben's House PartyBen's House PartyBen's House Party

Ah yes, beer pong. That wonderful collision of target-oriented motor skills with motor skill impairment.
proud to say I won again. Shruti and Geoff coughed up their 20 Euros in good form and Eugene and I battled it out for the prize money. It'll be a while before he forgives me for doubling up twice by winning on the river! It was also the kick off for the North Sea Jazz Festival, so there were a couple of stages for live jazz setup around town, one being a block away on the Plein. Gotta love free live music a stone's throw from your front door (not to mention the fact you can take a beer with you on the walk...just like New Orleans!)

Friday was a house party at Ben's, which was good ol' fashioned fraternity fun for me.... Beer pong, foosball, and even the added bonus of a room-sized slot car track. Ooh..little race cars. I'm in heaven. The ensuing 2pm wake up and lazy day after explains why I've had time to finally catch up on my blog work!

Which brings us to today, Saturday July 9. Hmm..wonder what kinda trouble I'll get into next? I guess you'll find out as soon as I get bored again!!

July Pics are here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Good times!Good times!
Good times!

Woo hoo! Party! Fun! Good times! Hey, wait a minute... Where am I and who are all you strange people in my picture?


12th July 2005

Crazy boy...
Mango, you're a crazy, crazy little man. And you make me very jealous of my obviously boring life.

Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb