The road goes on forever...


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » The Hague
January 28th 2006
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Monday: Cloister Beer MenuMonday: Cloister Beer MenuMonday: Cloister Beer Menu

Every week it's a different set of awesome beers on tap. Check out the strength of these beers! For reference, Bud light is about 4% in the States.
...and the party never ends.

At least it didn't this week. It's now almost 4 on Saturday and all I've managed to do is check email and eat some cashews. I finally had the opportunity and ability to get in a full 12 hours of sleep, so sleep I did. It feels good, since it's been a busy week.

Monday
After 3 months away, the Shoarma pizza from Pizza Dennis never tasted so good. The sweet taste of victory, however, was not ours to be had, as we came in 3rd place with 57 points, which really stinks since the other teams scored 58 and 59 respectively. I blame the music round since the only thing I knew among the assortment of Euro dance pop was Shaggy's 'Boombastic'.

Tuesday
Ton, being the sociable Dutchman he is, graciously invited myself, John, and a visiting Scottish colleague out for drinks in dinner in Delft. So, I find myself in the Cloister for a second consecutive night. After a good Trappist beer and a fruit beer round, we were off to De Kork for a nice dinner. Always out to try something new, I opted for a kangaroo t-bone. Sure kangaroos
Tuesday: Back at the CloisterTuesday: Back at the CloisterTuesday: Back at the Cloister

As luck would have it, Ton decided to take a few of us out in Delft and the Cloister just happened to be the first stop.
are cute, and even Ton tried to make me feel guilty by telling me I was eating a Dutch cartoon character named Skippy, but hey: if God didn't want us to eat animals, he wouldn't have made them taste so good.

Wednesday
Nostalgia for those middle school years of rollerskating around Manning's rink in Beaumont made it tough for me to pass up a New Professionals Network event to go ice skating in the Hague--especially since the rink is located conveniently at the front doork of my hotel! After a successful hour of skating without falling or looking too terribly uncoordinated, we retired for a few beers on the plein at Plein 20 and Byblos.

Thursday
Since poker kinda fell through, we decided instead to do a steak dinner night. Since I'm apparently a 'dumb American' and didn't think to make a reservation at Los Argentinos on the busiest night of the week (the stores stay open late on Thursday in the Hague), we ended up at the more upscale and therefore less crowded Gaucho's. Even when I lose, I win. If you're ever here, you gotta get the empanadas, beef di Lomo cooked medium with peppersauce, fat
Wednesday: Ice SkatingWednesday: Ice SkatingWednesday: Ice Skating

I guess at least one bright side of it being frickin freezing is that you can have an ice skating rink out doors. Now everybody strike cheesy ice skating poses.
hand cut chips and sauteed mushrooms. The beef just melts in your mouth...it's amazing. I'm salivating. Next stop was the fiddler, where fun was to be had punching pinky fingers through beer coasters. Why? Because somebody showed me how on Wednesday, and you all know how easily entertained I am.

Friday
Big dinner at my favorite Greek place: Athene Palace. 12 of us congregated for ouzo apertifs, ridiculous servings of meat, and to celebrate several occasions: John's Birthday, Jen's belated birthday, and of course the main reason: they're getting rid of me again. Danzig, the dance club was our next stop and where ridiculous cocktails for 8 were consumed. I think the pictures say it all!

The rest of the insanity is documented HERE





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Skating makes you thirstySkating makes you thirsty
Skating makes you thirsty

...so off to Byblos for drinks with a couple of new friends from NPN
Thursday: AwwwwwwwThursday: Awwwwwww
Thursday: Awwwwwww

You know me...can't pass up a lame joke or a cheesy photo of Eugene and Jen at the Fiddler!
Mind over matterMind over matter
Mind over matter

Paul showed me this on Wednesday after skating...A hard, dry beer coaster seems like a tough thing to punch a finger through. When I managed to put my little finger through not one, but TWO, it was worth a picture and a cheesy grin.
Friday: Greek FeastFriday: Greek Feast
Friday: Greek Feast

Opah! Ben and I raise our ouzo to kick off a night of meaty overabundance and celebration.
Giant cocktails at DanzigGiant cocktails at Danzig
Giant cocktails at Danzig

yeah...I think the picture says it all.


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb