Barenaked Ladies


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » The Hague
January 19th 2006
Published: January 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Susie's Leaving DoSusie's Leaving DoSusie's Leaving Do

Having my first Duvel of the trip with Jen and Nikki at Cafe de V.
Ok, so you'd think that for something as simple as a few paragraphs of attempted wittiness that I could keep this thing updated at least a few times a week, but here I go again falling into weekly reviews. I have my reasons. That being said, here's as painless of a recap of the first work week of the trip as I can muster:

First, the whining:
About the blog title... I think those guys said it best in 'Pinch Me.' (Ah, such high hopes for an interesting entry crushed so quickly!)

"It's the perfect time of year
Somewhere far away from here
I feel fine enough, I guess
Considering everything's a mess"


Oh man...has it been a rough couple of days. Lots of emotional stress over Kat going to NYC coupled with extremely little sleep from jetlag and the dreariest weather imaginable has made for a not so bueno first couple of days. As a self-proclaimed marathon sleeper and taker of spontaneous naps, lying awake for several hours at a time during the night is really, really frustrating. I needed help. For some reason, the only sleep medicine you can get over the counter here is melatonin,
Proof I'm a dorkProof I'm a dorkProof I'm a dork

Look how happy I am about my coat. That's how cold it is here. Seriously...I had to set up the self timer and everything to do this alone in my hotel room. Wow. I can't believe I'm sharing this with everybody.
but no Nytol or anything like that. Pharmacy drugs are apparently much more highly regulated than the recreational stuff. I guess they expect you to find 'alternative' ways of inducing sleep. Again, crazy Europeans.

Funny; I didn't really get that homesick in 6 months here last year, but by day 3, I was already ready to get back to Houston!

Like I never left
True, it's only been 3 months since I left, but first week back and everything's close to the same. I did miss quiz night on Monday because I was absoutely exhausted, but a nice beef stroganoff dinner at Eugene's with Shruti and Bec passed the evening nicely. On Tuesday, I made like a Redcoat and had fish and chips at the Fiddler. Wednesday was a big night out in Delft for Susie, since she's going on maternity leave for a few months. We went to the same place I had my leaving dinner, Cafe de V. Good grub and nearly 30 folks out, but an early night since I was still only running on a few fitful hours of sleep.

For Thursday, the gambling gods were both cruel and kind. They granted me
Hard Days NightHard Days NightHard Days Night

...and Alex is sleeping like a log--at work. After a long night out after Susie's on Wednesday, this was the scene on Thursday. I gotta give props to the old guys for partying like they're still college freshmen. They must have been Chi Phis in another life.
the ability to sleep through the night, which was a bonus, but they also granted pocket pairs to someone everytime I decided to bluff at the pot with two over cards. I was out second. Balls. On the bright side, I got my buy-in back in a 20 euro game of high card with Eugene. Thanks buddy!

So, there ya have it: in a nutshell, the week started off crappy but gradually improved with the addition of sleep and beer. Now what else was there....hmmmm. Oh yeah..work's going well too! I think I broke my record with SEVEN meetings in one day, including one that ran for 2 hours until 6pm. Glorious.

Up next: a weekend trip to Belgium. Maybe I'll get around to it before quiz night.....

January Pics




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Eww, that naaaastyEww, that naaaasty
Eww, that naaaasty

(think Cleveland from Family Guy) Among other totally normal maternity presents for Susie was this gem: the P-Mate. A sort of cardboard funnel thingy so that women can pee standing up. (Pause for effect here) Yeah...I'm serious. Look at the package picture. Talk amongst yourselves.
All these people are on my sh#$ listAll these people are on my sh#$ list
All these people are on my sh#$ list

Three times in one night did Brian the pocket pairs destroy. Woe is me for doing only better than Shruti, who calls anything. John, the new guy to the table (who I invited, btw) took the pot. I'm still waiting for my cut, John!


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb