Here we go again


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » The Hague
January 15th 2006
Published: January 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Houston winsHouston winsHouston wins

Check out this gorgeous view out my hotel window at around noon. Ahhhh...winter in the Netherlands. Apparently gray is the only color that can survive outdoors in these conditions. Good thing I'll be back to Houston and in cargo shorts in 2 weeks!
Duty calls, and Brian answers.

Especially when it involves an expense account, business class travel, and catching up with the NL gang. For lack of a full line of American television, and thanks to the marvel of hotel WiFi, the blog is back in action.

So yup, at the request of my 'colleagues,' I'm back in the Netherlands for a quick 2-week stint to try and kick some ass and take some names. Thanks to the help of a seasoned last-minute packer and Village shopping veteran (Katherine, you're my hero), I was able to get packed up and ready for the trip the day of the flight, including the procurement of one super-swanky overcoat at a mere quarter of the original retail price. Sweetness.

Why did I need to go out and get a big new coat mere hours before takeoff? Let's do the bad news first. It's Freakin' cold here (please note that that is 'freakin' with a capital 'F'). It was below freezing according to the pilot at landing time at 8AM, and at best it would get to about 40 degress. That's when the sun actually managed to show up, which is rare at this time of year, since dawn isn't till about 8:45 am and it starts getting dark at about 4:30. But hey, at least the skies are dark and gray. Now I understand why the Dutch are so ecstatic about a nice day during the summer...winter is hell.

Ah, but at least there's some good news. I didn't get stopped for the 'random' security search this time at check-in (TSA sucks at racial profiling. Hello.. CHINESE), the flight was relatively smooth, and my neighbor on the plane didn't spill red wine all over me like the first time. Score.

Besides surviving the trip and the cold, the only order of business for Day 1 was a roast dinner at Bec's and Shruti's with Adam, Eugene, and a new guy from Bec's group in attendance. Apparently, parsnips are a pretty big deal to the British when it comes to roasts, whereas beer can chickens are not. Texans and Brits will never see eye to eye.

More to come as soon as I get some sleep and have the energy to do something interesting.


Advertisement



16th January 2006

Emergency Back Home
I need new pads for my earbuds. I'm not paying for them. Send immediately along with $500 in unmarked bills.
23rd January 2006

Saw your latest Blog today
23rd January 2006

Not so bad
Hey I need to defend my country. The winter is not that bad in the Netherlands, there are sunny days, too. If you stay long enough you'll enjoy the weather ;)

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb