Continuing Adventures in Den Haag


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » The Hague
January 30th 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Some things are universalSome things are universalSome things are universal

Dad wished the Super Bowl was that day.
The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees what he has come to see. -- G. K. Chesterton

The next few days were spent getting more settled in and used to the fact I would actually be living here for the next six months. It's something I'm still not used to, even all these days later. It hits me randomly. I will be walking next to a canal, or go grocery shopping. The fact definitely hits me when it is raining, although at those moments I'm usually not celebrating my being here, haha.

The day after we arrived in Den Haag was for shopping. We wandered in and out of stores, just trying to get used to shopping in Den Haag. Again, knowing Dutch would have made things a lot easier. But at least in shops the object is right in front of you! Grocery stores showed I would not starve (or be lacking candy bars and peanut butter) while drugstores showed I wouldn't die of a headache either. I'll admit that before I came I was a bit paranoid, afraid that the Netherlands would not sell anything like what I had back home. I was
Enough Kaas?!Enough Kaas?!Enough Kaas?!

The Dutch like cheese...a lot.
wrong, and actually a bit ridiculous.

The most exciting thing was the purchase of a cell phone. The cheapest one we could buy, it will be useful for talking to other students and calling around The Hague. It is so tiny! And it is definitely the baby of the cell phones: no flashy applications or neat design. But it will work, and that is what matters. I'm trying to apply that sort of philosophy with all that I am buying. It is only going to last six months; it doesn't have to match or be beautiful. Euros are tight!

My dad and I went to all sorts of different restaurants during this time as well. I was worried about Dutch food before I came here, and to be honest I still don't think I could handle traditional Dutch food. The diversity here is so widespread though that there seems to be very few restaturants that offer that sort of Dutch food, although I have seen (and successfully avoided) them. We ate at several sandwich shops, a French cafe, Bagels and Beans (like Panera), an Italian restaurant, and an Indonesian restaurant. I've discovered some great dishes and
Look familiar?Look familiar?Look familiar?

I need to buy these at some point!
some not so great ones. The variety amazes me. There are simply tons of places to go!

One thing my dad and I didn't accomplish was a lot of sight-seeing. The city was revealed to us as we rode trams around, trying to get used to that system. We saw little streets and unique shops. But I would have to say we weren't really tourists . We just had so much to do so I could live here! We did manage to go to the Mauritshuis, an art museum full of Dutch masters. It was only one floor of this old house, but it was amazing. I will go there again.

The museum was a nice place to go that Thursday because it was nasty outside. Rain, and it was coming down sideways. I don't know how the Dutch survive such weather (apparently it rains a lot) but I guess I'll learn!!

Next stop on Dad and Teale's grand adventure: Paris! Stay tuned...



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Les FleursLes Fleurs
Les Fleurs

The Dutch are known for their flowers, and apparently this is not restricted by season.
Comfort foodComfort food
Comfort food

Ah, coffee and bagels. Nothing quite like that combination.
BebbelenBebbelen
Bebbelen

A great restaurant. The cobblestones around it doesn't hurt the atmosphere either.
Art MuseumArt Museum
Art Museum

Going to see art was comforting. Something I recognize and know! No pictures inside though.
I hate rain.I hate rain.
I hate rain.

I think I should have researched the weather better before choosing my program.
More cityMore city
More city

This area is closer to where I live; probably a 15 minute walk.


4th February 2009

Amazing!
Hi Teale, it looks and such like such an amazing place. I love following your blog and hearing about all of your adventures...looking forward to hearing about Paris. Take care!
25th February 2009

I had no idea Americans had a flavor. =P

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb