Den Haag Impressions


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » The Hague
January 28th 2009
Published: January 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I love luggage!I love luggage!I love luggage!

Yes, this is what we lugged around two airports, two train stations, and a bus. Good times.
A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.--Confucius

It's been nine days since my last blog entry; who know's how well this is going to go? Haha. Those nine days have been packed with events and discoveries, too many for one blog entry. Catch-up it is, then; perhaps a blog entry a day! You all will be getting a few e-mails...

Dad and I arrived in Den Haag January 19 after various modes of transportation, beginning with a commuter jet to Chicago and ending with a train ride to Den Haag Centraal Station. All the transportation, which is what was making me the most nervous about the trip, went quite smoothly. I had nightmares of getting on the wrong train, buying the wrong ticket, being forced to check some of our carry-ons. I don't know why transportation makes me so nervous, but in all my travels it does! Just wait until the entry on Paris and its delightful metro system. Mon dieu!

Anyway, the first problem we encountered was the fact that all signs were in Dutch. Sure, you think, it is a Dutch-speaking country and all, makes sense. I was told, and it was stressed by many, that I wouldn't have any problem not knowing Dutch. Everyone knows English, they said. Which is true. Everyone does know how to speak English. The signs however... It seems weird to me that some specifically are just in Dutch. Especially things that tourists use oftens, such as trains or buses. I've realized I must learn Dutch as soon as possible. Good thing, then, I plan on taking it as a class!

Because of the signs, Dad and I wandered aimlessly around the station for a bit. We must have looked a little ridiculous, lugging all these bags in random directions. We were planning on taking a taxi to our hotel because we had so much luggage. However we were stopped by a transportation worker, who explained the buses to us. He was great! We took one of the buses to the hotel, and it was actually very easy (and so much cheaper). We arrived at Hotel Petit exhausted and slightly in pain from the luggage.

The weather was actually quite nice that Tuesday (meaning no rain!) so after relaxing a bit we set off into the city.
A Glimpse of Den HaagA Glimpse of Den HaagA Glimpse of Den Haag

A square we found while wandering the first day.
Might as well explore and try to beat the jet lag! We got directions to a shopping area from the receptionist, which turned out to be a bad idea. We got completely lost, and by this time were starting to become extremely hungry. Even the beautiful buildings and little shops couldn't distract us. One can only say "Look at that!" so many times before hunger wins. Dad tried to orient ourselves with the map, but Dutch streets resemble as labyrinth. That day and the next (even now!) there were several times that we had no idea how we had reached a certain place. There is no North, South, East or West it seems. You just keep walking!

It was the same that day. After having wandered around this part of the city for what seemed like days, we stumbled upon the shopping area. Luckily, we also found a restaurant! Our first Den Haag dining experience. It was good, but I think at that point anything would have been amazing (well maybe not the herring that is sold everywhere ). Dad also got his first European coffee, in a cup not exactly the size he is used to.
Really? This is my coffee?Really? This is my coffee?Really? This is my coffee?

Dad drinks his coffee, despite size issues.

After lunch we meandered back to the hotel, and both took naps. Yes, part of our first day in Den Haag was spent sleeping! I, unfortunately, fell asleep during the inauguration. Some Barack supporter I am :-)

Eventually Dad and I woke up from our respective stupors and realized we were once again hungry. We made the mistake, however, of following the same lady's directions to a great restaurant. We walked around (in circles, squares, ellipses, and any other possible shape) for a half-hour before again miraculously stumbling upon it. It was worth the walk; called the First Page, it was an amazing meal. We realized, too, that the receptionist had been three streets off the entire time. Having walked all this way did allow us to find a great shopping area, and that was our destination for the following day!

Advertisement



28th January 2009

Sounds Great!
It sounds like you are having a wonderful time and have found a lot of nice places with your dad (although walking a lot to get there...sometimes those are the best memories...) Enjoy!
28th January 2009

I am so glad you are writing about this! It will be fun to hear about all that happens. Love, Your Aunt
4th February 2009

Wow!
Teale! I'm glad you wrote too, it's hard to blog, I've discovered. I just want to transfer my experiences to paper/computer without the actual typing, it's hard...bleh. At least you have addresses, I asked one of the ladies in administration where a bank was and she told me 75 meters south of some building...No addresses here...it's all like that!! Party it up in the Netherlands for me!

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb