Nearing the end ...


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » Dordrecht
June 20th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dreumal => Dordrecht, 70.07kms, Total 2414.3, Ride time 3'57" "

Today's ride time and distance doesn't reflect how much work we put into these headwinds. Our tip at this moment if coming to Holland. Head EAST.

Still, the day was pleasant if you had the right attitude. The mornings ride took us to a little town where we stopped for coffee and cake, had a look around a couple of shops before heading on. Really, though most of today was head down and into the headwinds.

We caught a couple of ferries, including one cool one where we had to ring a big cow bell and a man wandered down to his little boat, came across and picked us (and a man and his dog) up and took us across to the other side for the princely sum of 1 Euro each.

I got to see my first working windmill whihc made me very excited, but towards the end of the day's riding we were just pushing on. I was down to 15km/hr on a dead flat road for about 10kms straight into this headwind watching Christie move further and further ahead of me. Strangely, I was in the mood for it and found myself singing aloud at the top of my voice, gleefully fighting my way into the wind. That's not to say I wasn't happy to get to the ferry.

We didn't want to stay in Rotterdam (still not into the big cities), so stopped at a lovely little campground at Dordrecht which had a great supermarket nearby, and I had my first hamburger and fries since leaving Australia. Yee Ha!.


More Photos

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb