Day 5 - Delft


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » Delft
April 21st 2011
Published: April 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok my final day in holland. I decided to go to delft. Beautiful small town situated on canals. Definately the right choice between it and the Hague.

Anyway I didn't actually get to delft till about 2ish. I had things to sort re my coach ticket for later that day.

Anyway... I went to both the old and new churches in delft. I climbed the tower in the new church. The highest balcony thing that you could walk around was exceedingly high. The lorry that was passing below looked like a toy.

In the new church I saw the tomb of William of Orange as the entire Orange family with a couple of exceptions are buried in delfts new church. All very interesting.

I then wandered around the markets for a bit. The main one in the square was a real toot fair nothing of any interest. However the smaller one on either side of one of the canals was much better.

As was to be expected there were numerous shops selling nothing but delftware china.

Anyway tomorrow I will be in my second country - germany!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb