Visiting Marktplein, (open air market), Delft, Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » Delft
May 13th 2017
Published: February 5th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Saturday is a big day for open air markets in the Netherlands; generally in their Markt Squares. (In Texas we call these markets "flea markets".) Here in Delft their Markt is by their Nieuwe Kerk, that is easy to see in the distance. I had a nice walk to the market filled with lots of vendors selling a lot of different products.

I did purchase some cooked hot chicken; and my main purchase was from a large selection of dehydrated fruits that I could eat anytime. (Note: there are many good restaurants in the Netherlands. Since I was uncertain how my money would hold out in my five weeks in my 2017 visit, this was an affordable option for me.)

The Delft Markt was so very large, it continued by a nice canal outside the Marktplein. I recon they were concerned with the possibility of rain, so many vendors covered their wares with plastic. I purchased some nice Delft ceramics, and a good had nut cracker there that I still use today.

I had a easy walk back to the Hotel Coen by way of a nice canal. I had an easy day cuz my next day I was moving to the Rembrandt Hotel in Leiden.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Delft MarktDelft Markt
Delft Markt

dehydrated fruit
Delft MarktDelft Markt
Delft Markt

dehydrated fruit
Delft MarktDelft Markt
Delft Markt

dehydrated fruit
Delft MarktDelft Markt
Delft Markt

my fruit purchase
Delft MarktDelft Markt
Delft Markt

neat thing
Delft MarktDelft Markt
Delft Markt

neat thing
Delft MarktDelft Markt
Delft Markt

horse and carriage
Delft MarktDelft Markt
Delft Markt

horse and carriage
Delft canal marktDelft canal markt
Delft canal markt

vendor with spoons


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb