Rainy Day stuck outdoors....!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Province of Groningen » Groningen
September 17th 2007
Published: September 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Canals and boats..Canals and boats..Canals and boats..

typical Netherlands! but nice and peaceful to walk along the canal actually....=)
Woke up very early to take the train up to Groningen, original plan to go up to Friesland....but then the weatehr wasn't so good and it was a bit too far......-__-"

Groningen......is a city....not a lot to see really...they had this nice design art museum but its Monday so its CLOSED! I got there around 1130am and all the shops open at like 1300 on Mondays!! WTH? so I arrived into a desserted city basically...
Went to the tourist info office.....all maps and guides need money....so didn't get any, read a bit then walked out lu.

All this time is was RAINING...!....sucks. tired and not in my best mood.....
anyways, walked around and just stroll around the city....nice city! typical Netherlands with lots of canals and bricks..haaa..!
Went into the dept. store which opened a little earlier and found the chocolate block to make hot chocolate milk!!!!! SO GOOOOOD! you melt a whole block of chocolate into hot milk and oooooooooohhh!
Feels like heaven!!!!!^______^ Too bad...they only sell them in blocks of 4!!! ahhhh I want MORE!!!!!!

Anyways, nothing else to see so took the trian backto Amsterdam. Just intime to see the Van Gogh Museum! Besides that
Art gallery!Art gallery!Art gallery!

right infront of the train station!
most famous painting he has and the unique kinda painting style, I really know nothing about him. So walked in and it was interesting to learn how his style has changed over the years!His early stuff isn;t that nice I think.....the colours and lights didn't really seem THAT nice....My favourite ones were "the Sower" and "Garden of St Pauls Hospital", I liked the ones he painted with trees in them...this painting style paints really nice treees I think..HAAAA!
I really don't know how people study these paintings and can figure out like...how his life was..I mean...a lot of the comments on those paintings and relating to his life sounds very...."made up". and He wasn;t successful until he killed himself...
I really just don't understand Art....all of the above are just personal opinion...so whoever art person or Van Gogh fan reads this, don't yell! haaaa

After Van Gogh...was gonna to wlak around Amsterdam again...but then it rained too hard to just headed back instead lu!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Houses..in HollandHouses..in Holland
Houses..in Holland

they all look like this..how come I can't find those my Multimedia teacher showed in class in University?!?!?! They were so cute and colourful in the film!!!!
NOT an end...NOT an end...
NOT an end...

ok, that round end always makes me think its the end of the road and cars can't go through...but its NOT and I hate it!!!
Back in Amsterdam...Back in Amsterdam...
Back in Amsterdam...

The Museum Area....really concentrated with Museums of all type!!!! with a nce big park as well=)
Theme Colour!Theme Colour!
Theme Colour!

and this...Purple-ish.....pink-ish...colour is the theme of the park......
VanGogh MuseumVanGogh Museum
VanGogh Museum

its expensive......but nice!
One of my Dream Cars!One of my Dream Cars!
One of my Dream Cars!

BMW...!!!! it was right in front of the Museum!........
See who's back there???See who's back there???
See who's back there???

I was walking by and these people just look at the poster and started yelling! It was hilarious!


Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 17; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb