Holland


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Den Helder
May 10th 2008
Published: May 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


France to HollandFrance to HollandFrance to Holland

took ferry from England to France, then train thru Belgium to the Netherlands.
Update...

from Ireland up to the Netherlands...

April 27 (about 2 weeks ago) I took a ferry from SE Ireland to Wales. I stayed in Wales for a few days in a town called Swansea, where it was very restful and productive. I
worked on music, read , wrote, did laundry and ate well. It rained a bunch.

On May 1, I trained to London, met up with Anne's good friend Carla and later on with Elan and his honey Dia. We celebrated his 30th birthday. Good times.

With a few more days in London I stayed at Jessica's again in Brixton. I did more historical things: Tower of London, National Gallery, several churches, etc. Met up with my Irish friend Danny and played more music...not enough time to do any recording, but still fun. Also saw more good jazz at the pub around the corner from her house. Went to the tower of London.

On Tuesday, May 6th, I took the ferry over from England to France, and then hopped a train to Rotterdam, Holland - going through Belgium on the way.

Rotterdam was my first official "couchsurfing" experience. (see website if curious) I
train stationtrain stationtrain station

in Antwerpen said to be the diamond importing capitol of the world
met my hosts at the local weekly meeting in a pub near the train station, and they put me up for a night. Just took a brief walk around town the next day. It is a newer feeling city, as it was heavily bombed in WWII.

Wednesday the 7th, I met my friend Leontein actually in Rotterdam because she was there for work, and we took the short train ride to Amsterdam. I am grateful for good friends, for I met her through my friend Christopher (in the US). I've stayed on her couch for about 4 nights. Amsterdam is a striking place: the canals, old buildings with noticeable Dutch architecture, the bicycles everywhere - I mean everywhere (for those who have not been). The photos here may give you a small sense, but there are waaay more bikes than cars, designated bike lanes and infrastructure supporting the use of bike transportation. This element really changes a place.

The weather since about Monday has been amazing, so everyone seems to be in a good mood, the parks are filled with people and almost every cafe courtyard is 2/3 full of pleasuring people. During the day, I've had a
in Rotterdamin Rotterdamin Rotterdam

cube houses behind
chance to explore (get lost), get a bike, see museums, etc. and in the evening it's usually been picnics in the park with many of Leontien's Dutch friends. The Dutch speak good English (better than the Irish) I think because their language is complex and uses many more sounds than most other languages, so English almost fits inside of it. But Dutch is a very strange and difficult language. The history and art lessons I have had have been rich.

Next to Italy. Then a short breeze through Germany on my way back to fly home from London. I extended the trip a week to May 28th.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

AmsterdamAmsterdam
Amsterdam

parking structure for bikes
LeonteinLeontein
Leontein

my generous Amsterdam friend and host Leontein...thanks christopher! not sure what the building in the background is...
arriving in Amsterdamarriving in Amsterdam
arriving in Amsterdam

church in background was written about in, "the Diaries of Anne Frank"
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

the Dutch minivan
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

the Reikt Museum in background
going to picnicgoing to picnic
going to picnic

that's friend & host Leo on right
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

more friends at picnic
picnicpicnic
picnic

friends at picnic. guy on right is from NY and SF and lives in Holland.
picnicpicnic
picnic

the weather there was perfect for evening picnics. hundreds of people had the same idea.
picnic picnic
picnic

focusing on the task at hand
picnicpicnic
picnic

in the netherlands, this is not acrobatic or daring.
Euro carEuro car
Euro car

putting the mini in its place
beer truckbeer truck
beer truck

there's much better beer, but i had to get this touristic shot


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb