Location, location


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
May 17th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Building01 Building01 Building

At the top is the Netherland's flag
Geo: 52.3738, 4.89095

This morning I packed up the tent for the last time for a long time!! Decided to do some travelling with Cate and finish the tour in Amsterdam instead of London. After many hugs and sad goodbyes, we got off the coach at the tram stop and caught the tram into the city to check into our hostel. It was located quite a few blocks away from the red-light district, which made it seem safe. We were too early to check in, so we left our bags and explored our temporary neighborhood. Conveniently located across the road!! There were prostitutes in the windows at 9am!!! Hmmm, great location, hope we didn't pay more because of this convenience!! Will have to remember to look ahead as I walk to the hostel.

We ate a late breakfast and I mailed some more postcards. Found a supermarket and bought some fruit. Then headed back to check-in. I choose one of the 19 beds for the night. There were people still sleeping as I rummaged around in my bag to find all my washing. While clothes were washing, I went to an Internet cafe and checked my bank balance- not good!! I had
02 Reflection02 Reflection02 Reflection

Reflection on the water
no idea how many $$$ I was taking out of the ATM each time because in most countries it was a different currency to the previous one- I was lost with conversions.

Went for a walk to Anne Frank's House. It was really good and I enjoyed it, especially going through the secret passageway to where the 8 people lived. I will have to read her diary one day. It was also sad, as it reminded me of my visit to Auschwitz. Bumped into Sandy and Des who also finished the tour in Amsterdam, we did a lap of the red-light district just for amusement.
Cate and I met Anshu and Charmara for dinner and then said our final goodbyes. We used the internet and walked back to the hostel to catch up on sleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb