The Pros and Cons of Girlfriends


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
March 11th 2016
Published: March 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

My friends Rhonda and Andrea were also in Amsterdam and we were playing FB tag via free wi-fi, trying to coordinate. I had decided that if it worked, awesome, if not, all good. So I took a stroll for a couple of hours by myself, just seeing the city that I’ve been wanting to come back to for 21 years. How insane is that?

My first international trip was to Mazatlan (2 week beach drop and flop drunk), and then my first backpacking trip to Europe, starting in Amsterdam, which I returned to 3 or 4 times in the same trip. The city just has this relaxing, fun charm. Little bit of something for everyone, from museum goers to strollers, photographers, architecture lovers, and those wonderful illicit coffee shops one can attend, should they choose. (What happens in Amsterdam, stays in Amsterdam, right?)

Made it to the “W” hotel where my friends were staying, did a few circles with a very, very charming and cute staff member that kept getting the hotel room wrong (I had NO issues walking behind him!). Connected with the girls, and well, realizing that I see Andrea maybe once a year for a few days at a DZ and Rhonda I don’t think I’ve seen in almost 5 years it was a wonderful catch up. With vodka, and soda. And then another, and well, you know how this story ends.

Little miss goody two shoes who almost never drinks when she travels anymore (for financial and safety reasons) stepped back into her 20’s, skipped eating for close to 24 hours and consumed a LOT of Citroen Kettle 1. I managed to make it back to my hotel weeble wobbling down the street. I vaguely remember talking to Diane on FB messenger, struggling to type anything. And asking the front desk for more coffee (random). Crawled into my spinning bed after 1:30am and wished myself luck. I have to admit, it was so fun to let loose and catch up with my girlfriends that I have known for years, but one lives in Toronto, the other in Atlanta, and well you just don’t see each other often enough.

The following day I had plans to catch up with a dear old friend whom I had not seen in 21 years (literally) as he lives in Hellevoetsluis. He was going to drive up to Amsterdam and we were to spend the day together, one of my reasons (apparently not strong enough) to not drink too much. Well, refer to earlier paragraph :-) I amazingly slept until 10am, had coffee, opened up my computer to see that I had drunk FB posted. I have to laugh at myself. Especially the part about the room spinning, #nedsworld.

Marco and I caught up over a much needed breakfast and we spent the day walking, stopping for coffee/beer/food, repeat. It was a perfect way to explore and a perfect spring weather day. I love walking cities, and Amsterdam is a safe environment, and I feel quite comfortable wandering around. I loved the tall buildings, how they go upwards of 5-6 stories, and all the houses have a built in crane on the roof to haul furniture in and out. So different from Canada, looking at street level store, then looking up and discover an old, old building with brick, and turrets and unique windows and so on. Love it!

We strolled over to the Negen Straatjes area, was recommended to me as a more local place to walk, lots of shops and restaurants, but all local. It was wonderful. One store had cats in the windows, just hanging out, taking a nap and a bath. We then walked down to Leidseplein Square, a place that was stuck in my memory from 21 years ago, and I laughed when we got there, hadn’t changed a bit! Bulldog is still there, same shops and even an alley I remember well from (an epic) New Years Even so long ago.

After another stroll we walked through the main park: Vondelpark. Beautiful piece of green space that is surprisingly large and very full today. Once again we found another patio, and once again we stopped and I had my craving of French fries with mayo (the true Dutch mayo). Yummy yummy, 21 years I’ve been waiting and they did not disappoint. My stomach complained for a while but it was worth it!

Then it was to Rembrant Square, a Guinness on a patio, then another stroll, and eventually a nice Italian dinner, and next thing it was after 9:30 and I had to get up at 6 to catch my flight to Uganda.

All in all a perfect day, catching up with an old friend, and I managed to go to bed a decent hour to prep for the African portion. (More photos below)


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.551s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0985s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb