A peasant in peacocks clothing


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
March 10th 2016
Published: March 11th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Ah, and away Ned goes on her next adventure.

Few of you know this, but I was to leave on March 4th to fly to Tanzania and climb the illustrious Mount Kilimanjaro, up the Machame route. It was an agent special trip (which is unheard of in the industry) and doing a slower route so I was thrilled to get accepted by G Adventures. Regardless it was not to be.

Monday Feb 29th (that damn extra day ruined it) I slipped on ice while dog walking and not only crashed backwards feet flying out in front of me, but succeeded in giving myself a concussion and whiplash in my neck. A visit to the ER the next day (yes I'm stubborn) proved that I was injured and I could not climb Kili as the risk of getting a cerebral edema was far too high. The only reason I listened to the ER doctor is he is a well traveled international mountain climber (and I'm only a hiker) and he was offered a job on Kili to guide and turned it down. This man knew what he was talking about.

I'd say fortunately I had insurance but, let's face it I *always* have insurance because, well shit happens, and it happens to me. A lot. Frequently. I should be collecting frequent flyer miles from insurance companies, but then again to bring to light how often I claim, they may stop insuring me! I was able to change my ticket to do the second half of this trip, (with the Dr. and physiotherapist ok) allowing me to go to Uganda and Rwanda still.

When I changed my ticket there was no space to fly direct, but I could overnight for 2 days in Amsterdam for only the change fee. Sweet! I had not been to Amsterdam in 21 years and while I had tried making it back a few times something always got in the way (food poisoning, missed connections etc). Checked in for my flight yesterday and the staff member of KLM said "Miss Ambrus, I"m to offer you an upgrade to business class for 25,000 points (I guess I have a lot), would you like to do that?" Uh, UH, Uh, YES! And it also includes lounge access Miss Ambrus. Sweet!!!!!!!

Went to the lounge to see where the 'other half' life, in my swanky travel dress with black leggings and hiking shoes and backpack on. Fit right in :-) Sadly I'm on a no booze diet until the head heals completely, but my club soda with lime was delicious tacked on with all the stares out of the corners of people eyes. I heart being a spectacle! No one has ever accused me of being a fashion savant, but when I'm traveling it gets worse as I'm all about being practical.

Business class is, well, heaven. I'm not going lie. The only down side with KLM's aircraft is that business class you turn left when you enter, where like Air Canada, you have to walk past all the comfortable people with their (real) glassware of sparkling water pre-flight. I wanted to BE that person. In my travel dress and leggins and hiking shoes. giggle. Looking up over my menu of choices of food that is served with real cutlery as they walk back to cattle. OH well, another day perhaps!

I of course had packed all my own food, including breakfast for the next day, and the lady next to me noticed and said don't worry they feed you well up here. Then she proceeded to watch me get settled, which included almost knocking over my Starbucks coffee, dropping my chapstick, spilling part of my backpack on the floor, losing my headphones in the seat and it goes on. I told her don't worry this is common with me, but I generally only spill on myself. (I guess she moved my coffee once when my elbow almost smacked it - like we were becoming fast friends!)

The flight almost felt too short - well waking up at 2:30 my time groggy as was tough, but the Amsterdam airport is so easy to maneuver. Talked to Tourist Info (IamAmsterdam), bought a map, and round trip ticket to Centraal Station and got directions for the tram. My hotel is right on one of the tram lines, so once I got off my biggest confusion was figuring out where it was. I did 3 circles before I found it :-) They let me check in early with my business card and guess what? PURPLE CURTAINS! Free nespresso coffee machine (took me forever to figure the damn thing out but I"m on caffeine now - can't you tell?)

OK, 2 hour nap (just had to) and I'm off to wander the city, just me, my backpack and my bad taste in travel clothes :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb