Amsterdam Day 6


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
December 20th 2014
Published: December 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today we woke up around 2:00 pm in an effort to recover from the concert the night before. We all felt that our deep sleeps were totally justified, seeing as we all still had faint ringings in our ears from the blaring music.

Will went off to go meet up with some friends that he had met in Copenhagen, while Joon and I went to a coffeeshop to play some chess. We had a great time playing it the other day, so we just decided to have a quiet day today and play chess for a couple of hours.. and those hours went by really fast, we got to the shop at 4:30 pm and stayed until 7:30 just playing game after game. Joon used to be in a middle school club for chess, so he's really good... I've only beat him once out of the 10 or 15 times we played. I think I'm going to try and practice during my spare time from now on.

Will met up with us on our way to the coffeeshop, but he said that he had to leave again because he was having dinner with his ex girlfriend and her parents tonight. It was a bittersweet goodbye, I'm happy that he is going to have an awesome time studying in Barcelona and practicing Spanish, but I'm sad that I won't see him for about another 4 months. It's been a blessing to have spent time with him on this trip, it wouldn't have been the same without him... He's definitely one of my best friends.

For the past couple of days we've just been stocking up at the grocery store and making simple foods like sandwiches or pasta. It's been really cheap and it's prevented my wallet's contents from dwindling even further, so I have no problem with it. For dinner I had veggie burgers with eggs on the side, which I couldn't finish because Joon and I had MORE gelato beforehand.. I'm going to be really worried once I arrive in Italy and have access to the good stuff everyday.

We hung out and talked about our trip and how we would remember it going forward. I guess it's time to start reminiscing about everything... time sure goes by really fast. Joon departs at 10 pm tomorrow, so I'm glad that I'll get to spend almost another day with him before he leaves. We don't have anything planned for tomorrow, but I'm sure we'll just eat and play some more chess.. Which sounds perfect to me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb