Goodbye, Prague


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
August 25th 2014
Published: August 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hello, Amsterdam! Unfortunately, this means my Eurotrip is closing out. Friday afternoon, I say goodbye to this amazing, educational, slightly crazy, unforgettable summer. But until then, there's still plenty to see and do!


We slept in this morning, packed, and left our beautiful apartment. We had a 5:05 flight, but the airport is about 30 minutes outside the city, and when Marie was coming in, she also had an issue with the shuttle not showing up. On top of that, we were flying easyJet, which, as a budget airline, was super-cheap, but also meant we had to check. So we wanted to be there early, which meant that we had to try to catch the 2:00 shuttle to account for all the possible variables above. That gave us too much time to just hang out, but not enough to really do much.



We decided to go to Old Town Square and shop around for a bit. It was one of the best decisions we've made. First, I got apple-ginger-lime juice, which is even better than it sounds. More importantly, there was a street performer there, who was, without a doubt, the best street performer I've ever heard. He only had an acoustic guitar and a beautiful voice. Within three songs, Katelynn, Liz, and I had all gone up and bought his CD. Giovanni Bassano is his name, in case he ever becomes famous. Which he deserves. After he closed out his set, Katelynn and I went up to get a picture with him, which prompted him to come over and talk to us for a bit. He has quite a story: he's been to LA, San Francisco, Rotterdam, Dusseldorf, Prague, Florence (obviously, by his name), among other cities. It's clear he's been trying and just not had luck, but if he ever comes to Boston, I will bring a crowd myself and buy him a drink as well. I have his contact information, to be sure.



After Giovanni left, a jazz group we'd seen before came on, so we watched them until we had to leave. There was a giant chessboard in the airport Samii and I played on to kill time, then we hopped on the plane to Amsterdam. The flight was definitely not the smoothest I've been on, but I suppose I've been on worse as well. We got in pretty late at night, so we pretty much checked in to the hotel, got dinner, and went to our rooms. Tomorrow morning we have a tour of the city to go on, and we kick off the home stretch!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb