Heading home


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
July 26th 2013
Published: July 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Heading homeHeading homeHeading home

On the ferry from Rødby to Puttgarten
Ready to snap. Not at anyone in the choir, fortunately, or our entourage, but just in general. Went to bed shortly after midnight knowing it would be an early morning. Got to sleep around 1. Woke up at 3:30ish to the sounds of a ukulele. Which wasn't so bad in and of itself, but then the ukulele began to be accompanied by rowdy, drunken singing that went on for a good half hour or more - I think I finally fell asleep again partway through the performance, based on what some of the other gals were saying.

Also, there is a construction site across the street from the hostel. Not normally an issue as I can sleep through industrial noises that accompany construction - years of living next to the legislative grounds have seen to that. But construction in Denmark begins at 6 a.m. And this morning it began with a bang. Literally. It sounded like a pretty massive explosion. Given that they seem to be demolishing the foundations of an old building, it wouldn't surprise me.

Anywho, many of us said our farewells and got back on the bus for the long haul back to Amsterdam. And I mean long haul. Like, so long that the European Union regulates that we had to switch drivers partway through the trip (about 1.5 hours from Amsterdam). We took the road from Copenhagen to Rødby Færge, then took the biggest ferry I have ever been on across the water to Puttgarten, and then it was more or less non-stop bus (minus a few regulated stops for the driver and the swap).

I'm tired, I'm cranky, and I don't want to go home, and yet that's precisely what I have to do tomorrow. Spending far too much time dwelling on the "what ifs" that face me when I get back, and as per usual when I'm tired, I'm a bit of an emotional wreck. Here's hoping I can keep it together tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb