And we're off!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
July 13th 2013
Published: July 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


1:30 pm
And thus begins our tour. My friend Roxanne dropped me off outside the church where we were meant to be meeting our bus, at the time we were meant to be meeting our bus... And there was no bus. So we waited.

The time arrived when we were meant to be departing in the bus... And there was no bus. So we waited.

Fortunately it was a lovely, sunshiny day, and waiting around outside was not that much of a hardship. The bus finally showed up about 20 mins late. We shoved our stuff underneath and we were off! Sadly. This means that our trip to the Donut Mill in Red Deer may be curtailed and/or skipped entirely. Sadness.



9:30 pm

somewhere over Labrador, according to the satellite map thingy on the plane. So, yes, we did make it onto the plane on time - not that our bus driver was of much assistance in that regard. We ended up driving down a dead end near Calgary airport, having to turn the bus around, and other such fun.

You know what else is fun? Trying to fit around 300 people into the gate area at Calgary airport. Honestly, the D gate area is so badly overused that I almost inevitably end up sitting in the floor while waiting for flights, and this was almost no different - I did manage to snag a seat at a gate opposite the one we were actually leaving from - but nowhere near anyone else from the choir!



The plane is an A-330 for those of you who care about these sorts of things. It's also the largest plane I've ever been on, I think - 9 seats across (all my trans-Atlantic flights to date have been 7). Also, they have the weird mood lighting thing going on. I'm not sure what to make of it to be honest. It means the plane is nice and dark right now, though, so I will see if I can break the curse of not being able to sleep on flights. You'd think I'd learn by now and stock up on some melatonin or something.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb