First leg


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
November 6th 2012
Published: November 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

First leg

First leg NYC to Amsterdam The Netherlands....Nov 5th 2012

So somehow in the wake of Hurricaine Sandy with cancelled flights, limited gasoline and overstuffed bags i've managed to kick off the grasping tendrils of Manhattan NY and make it to Amsterdam Neatherlands. This is the first leg of what is to be the adventure of a life time that has taken half a lifetime to get to ....an over 2000 mile overland journey from Fez Morocco to Accra Ghana camping, eating, sleeping and learning first hand from Mama Africa.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Dutch lifeDutch life
Dutch life

On the way to the Van Gogh museum
Window to the worldWindow to the world
Window to the world

A window filled with globes and tropical plants.... Dreams of far away
Welcome FeastWelcome Feast
Welcome Feast

Welcome feast prepared for me by my beautiful Dutch friend and master chef Erica. Delicious!!!!


6th November 2012

Hola from Freezing New York City
Hello there lovely Pat!! So good to hear that you've arrived safely in Amsterdam. I'm sure you're going to have a fantastic adventure on your sojourn through Mama Africa. I'm looking forward to following your thrilling journey via your travel blog. Keep us posted on everything...add tons of snapshots. Looking forward with bated breath. Love and stay cool. Cecille xoxo
7th November 2012

Nice trip. Make sure you take loads of photos. Are you on a safari? Sharon
7th November 2012

I'm here
OK - I'm aboard - lets go.....still trying to imagine you spending even one night on the rough much less months???......lol
15th November 2012

Little do you know how well I slept my first tent night in pouring rain snug as a catapillar in my sleeping bag. Do need to get work gloves though for manning the tent rods etc!
15th November 2012

Little do you know how well I slept my first tent night in pouring rain snug as a catapillar in my sleeping bag. Do need to get work gloves though for manning the tent rods etc!
7th November 2012

KEWL
...You couldn't have left at the better time of year. Tomorrow we here in NYC/NJ will be hit with a Nor'Easter Wednesday Night. Tell us about the food in Morocco first thing. How is the creepy crawly situation in your tent? Those little stinkers I see on NatGeo SCARE me. Just asking LOL!
8th November 2012

WAY TO GO P !!
Funny I was just thinking about you. Sad that we were not able to get together before you left. I wish you the safest of travels and the very best experiences ever. What a wonderful journey to be able to do! Blessings!
9th November 2012

Bon Voyage.
Looking forward to your posts, cuzz. Travel safe, A.T.
19th January 2014
Welcome Feast

Hungry
Hey Pat Great trip Glad you're back safe, honey I've been in the office 3hrs. straight from church so you know looking at that spread made me hungry. know you hate to miss tnt carnival are you planning on going this year? Nandi and about 15 friends are going please keep in touch my number is still the same 917-609-7884 give me a Halla
26th January 2014
Welcome Feast

Hi Nat I'm still in East Africa....read on!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb