Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
August 10th 2010
Published: August 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Amsterdam safely then wandered around for a long while trying to find the hostel. We have decided that the Mand + Map approach is not a match to Nat's psychic abilities so he has been promoted to cheif navigator and I will be leaving the map book in the backpack.

The hostel is in a lovely spot on the edge of Vondelspark. We went into the park for a walk and a meal last night, then we were beat so had an early night.

This morning we hired bikes and cycled around the park and the city, no plan just to see the area. The weather was lovely and we really enjoyed it. We cycled past the ques to most of the museums and decided to give them a miss.

I pulled up at lights and as I put my foot down to stop me on the kerb, my flip flop bent under and I now have much less big toe than I started with. I had to stand outside a Wilkinsons style shop with Nat's hanky wrapped around my toe while he went inside for first aid supplies - he did really well. We decided that the best course of action was to elevate while drinking beer (me) and eating waffles at Hagen Dass (him).

Then the rain started so we braved the que and went in the Van Gogh museum. It was very busy but we enjoyed it and Nat found it very educational.

Soaking wet and back at the hostel now, ready for something to eat. The rain has eased off a bit so we might go uptown for dinner. Off to Berlin tomorrow but we are going to try and squeeze in a visit to Anne Frank's house before we go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



10th August 2010

wow
sounds like your both havin a great time, hope the toe is feeling better mand and well done nat on lookin after mum. what a lovey idea puttin your hol on a blog keep up with the pic's it all looks really nice.

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb