Countryside tour


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
August 26th 2008
Published: August 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! Today we decided to get out of the city and take in some of the countryside. We went to a cheese market and learned how cheese was made and ate lots of free samples. Jen was in heaven as she is such a cheese and cracker fan!!!

Then we ended up in a town called Edam (I think that's what it was called) and walked around to look at the old houses from the "rich dutch people". Their words, not mine. This city was very interesting and the cobblestone streets were deadly to Jen and I as we can not walk straight or good on flat ground!! No worreis, we walked with no wounds....at least not yet.

Then we took the bus to another town (already forgot that name - man, I'm useless!) where we took a boat to a fish market. IT WAS FREEZING!!! I swear it was like 40 degrees out but Jen said realistically it was more like 60 with really strong winds. Either way, for my Florida blood it was cold. So cold that I had to buy a sweatshirt to go over my sweater. Brr. And there was plenty of shopping here and I was so excited that Jen ran out of money. For those of you who know my sister knows that she LOVES to shop. And she just can't window shop...we have to go into EVERY store...look at everything and then compare prices to things that she has already bought. GOOD LORD!! I'm more of a window shopper...but not Jen! Put it this way...we had to be on the boat by 12:45...but of course we had to go potty (which cost .50 Euros per person...I wonder if they charge per #1 or #2...hmm...we didn't inquire about that!) so I let Jen go into the store first since I had the food and drink. I swear I was standing there for like 5 min or so only to peek in seeing Jen looking at the tshirts!!! I was SOOOOOOO mad. I went in and grabbed her (like an angry mom w/ her 2 YR OLD) and said "what are you doing?! we are already late for the boat ride and i have to pee too!!". Well, I didn't get to pee since my sister, once again, was SHOPPING!!! LOL!!!!

And our last stop was yet in another city I don't remember the name of (I think I fell asleep during that part...well...that's my excuse at least) but where the windmills are. They were SO beautiful and we took so many pictures and were so excited to post them on here...but I realized when I got here to Kinkos I forgot the cords to my camera in the hotel. So, no pictures for you 😞 There we met a friendly goat who took some pictures w/ us and ate some grass from our hands.

Now we are back in Amsterdam and going to get a quick bite to eat...our plane for Rome leaves at 7:05am which means we need to get up by 3:30am to get a taxi by 4:30am. Ugh. So when y'all are going to sleep tonite we will just be starting our next journey.

Mom & Dad...give Jen's love to Sadie. Hugs and kisses to Jason & Mike from me and Jen 😊

Oh...and I'm still 29 for a few more days!! YEE HAW!!

Advertisement



27th August 2008

Hey JoJo
Seems like you two are already having loads of fun. Might I add, you are quite a narrator...lol...anyways, take plenty of pics and enjoy your 30th bday over there! Party like a rockstar!!! See ya! V-
30th August 2008

Happy Birthday Jodi!
Just wanted to wish you a very happy 30th Jodi. How cool that you two sisters (best friends) can share this awesome experience on your monumental event. Take it in and have a good glass of wine, some great Italian Cuisine, and another glass of wine, or more..... Have fun! Michael LU Jen!

Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb