The Bikes


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
July 6th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!!!
So, I would just like to write an entry on bikes. Back in the States we generally dislike cyclist, they are annoying and constantly get in the way of all of us in our cars. Well, here it is the other way around. Bikes rule the world here. Everyone rides a bike, and they are not kind to you when you are walking. We have gotten yelled at a few times now because we were in the path of cyclists. No one has suffered any injuries by getting hit with a bike yet, but it is bound to happen. Other than that everything here is a lot like back home. THe people are pretty friendly. The weather is a slight bit overcast, which reminds me of New Orleans. It can go from hot to cold very quickly, and the sun stays out until about 10:30 and then comes back up at about 5. I have spent the weekend just hanging out with friends and resting. My body was very tired from Berlin and all the traveling. We have been given our first set of reading assignments, so everyone is quieting down and studying today. At 4 a group of us are going to a nearby park to play some soccer, show these Dutch how to play! (yea right) Supposedly they don't really like to play with girls, but that's nothing new. They'll get over it! I love you all and I miss you very much. I hope that everyone had a great 4th of July, don't worry we represented and celebrated the U.S. over here. Please someone write me back and tell me how things are back home!
Love ya,
Julia

Advertisement



6th July 2008

HAPPY BIRTHDAY USA
Dear Julia, Happy Birthday USA. We missed you during our holiday but it sounds like you are having a wonderful time in Europe. Although it sounds like lots of fun and adventure, I know that the law study will now begin and will be consuming. Work hard, learn alot, and come home safe. Love, Aunt Cindy . . . aka Judge Kent
7th July 2008

hi julia!!
Hey Julia, Have FUN!! We are sooo proud of you and now we can have our own trip through Europe through you!!! Much Love!!Your Cousins of Virtue
8th July 2008

Bike Life
Hey Jules, I all sounds amazing. Its great that you have school friends to share it with. Soccer and all. Why don't you guys get bikes? If you do be careful. It also good that the natives are friendly. How's the food? All is well here in New York except it doesn't look like I will get to go to Drew's wedding. But I will be sending a gift and my love. I have to start my classes on August 18th. I am excited about everything and I don't know if I told you but I did get my assistantship with the Center for Dewey Studies. I quit excited about working there. Take care, please be careful over there. I love you very much. Oh yeah what language do they speak in the Netherlands, anyway, besides English I mean? Let me know. Much love, Mom
8th July 2008

I HATED THE BIKES
Ugh, I am so jealous of you. Stay clear of the bikes though, those people are super serious about their riding. And it's not just in Amsterdam, it's everywhere. No wonder everyone is Europe is so damn skinny. I distinctly remember telling you about the red light district and that drugs are illegal...you silly girl. make sure to buy some clogs, they are fun. have you gone to any of the museums yet? you have to keep yourself busy to prevent being homesick. well, let's see what has been happening in the states. nothing new. you haven't missed anything. in new orleans, there were a couple people shot and someone drove over a gas line and exploded themself....so nothing new here either. as for me, i got a new haircut. anyway, there is your quick update. i love you!
8th July 2008

hello hello!
Well, i'm just catching up on your blog, but you seem to be having a wonderful time! you'd better post your pictures so I can see them! let me know how the course goes...i hope you go out dancing at least a few times and hit the pubs/bars. miss you!!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb