Back in the Dam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
April 8th 2008
Published: April 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=fOdbRfHrwv0]
Tent 63 - Team NaiveTent 63 - Team NaiveTent 63 - Team Naive

Team Naive - all are Mds veterans now!
We got back safe and sound late last night - after flying to Paris, we took the train to Amsterdam with alot of people on it who were wearing their Paris Marathon medals. They found our 23rd Mds finisher t-shirts interesting. Slept solidly for 12 hours before discovering that I lost 3.5kg last week - pretty extreme diet but it explains the amount of food that I'm savaging at the moment.

I also woke up with a strange feeling: I really, really miss last week already. The battle against what nature holds, the constant challenges, the simplicity of life (no worrying about which clothes to wear), the camaraderie in the tents (definetely one of the best things about the event), the support from home and friends, running in amazing scenery with only 1 other person visible for miles (or none at all), feeling fit, feeling completely emptied, and so on - it was an amazing experience that was way above what I expected (and I had done plenty of research). If you are lucky enough to get to the startline in this event - savour it all, every minute, every dune, every jebel conquered. I had one rule for the week and let everybody in my tent know it - only positive comments. If there was something bad we'd have a laugh about it instead and it worked out great.

I'll try to add some photos and stuff to each of the stages.

Advertisement



9th April 2008

Holy shit
Wow, yes, awesome, you made it, I am so proud of you both, this is the most amazing feat any of my friends has ever done! I am just stunned, this is just awesome.... Thank you both for sharing your thoughts and stories, it has inspired me over the last week or two.... JMC
9th May 2008

Congrats
Hey you guys, this is spellbinding stuff. Congrats for completing the race, what an experience! You guys are inspirational. Laura

Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0862s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb