Pesach in A'dam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
April 11th 2007
Published: January 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Pesach ShoppingPesach ShoppingPesach Shopping

Seth with 80 euros in 2 bags.
My friend Jawina took me Pesach shopping!

Amsterdam only has a limited number of kosher restaurants, grocery stores and bakeries. (Even fewer for Pesach)

Given this, I expected the price of food to be high so I only picked what I needed. I did have to make one exception for gefilte fish.

80 euros later, I walked out with some matza, a bottle of King David wine (most easily comparable to Manischewitz) and a few other essentials like jam.

Spending Pesach in Amsterdam was an interesting experience. I ate using plastic plates and cutlery and my room mate Ross was more than understanding and accommodating.

I even did b’dikat chametz. Ross and Sean hid the bread for me around our apartment.

I really missed being at home with family around the usual Seder tables.

For the first Seder night, Julia, Tamara and I were invited into the Garcia's home thanks to Jawina and Ilana. They welcomed us with opened arms and made us feel like family. They even did the Seder in Hebrew, Dutch and English so we could understand and participate.

The second night, I went with Ilana and Nathan to the student community wide Seder. There, I met many Jewish students and took part in an all Dutch Seder.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

B'dikat ChametzB'dikat Chametz
B'dikat Chametz

The search for bread with a fire and a feather


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb