And it begins...


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
June 20th 2007
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm happy to report we made it to Amsterdam in one piece!!! Gerard and I arrived at our hotel within one hour of each other yet somehow managed to miss bumping into one another for a while (I was reading my book inside the hotel, Gerard was reading his outside!!) Once we got settled we had a wonder around Amsterdam and both agreed that it was a very unique and beautiful city. The architecture in general is exceptional and it's winding canals make Amsterdam ooze some kind of charm 😊
Over the last two days we've done a fair bit of sightseeing including:
1) Dam Square; Gorgeous buildings, crazy mime artists, LOTS of tourists.
2) Van Gogh Museum; Have seen some of these paintings before on loan to the Tate Modern, but was fantastic to see an almost entire collection. Beautiful, albeit expensive gallery!
3) Rijksmuseum; Learnt alot about Dutch history, saw some famous Rembrant paintings- v breathtaking.
4) Vondelpark; We thought this may be good- turns out its just like any other generic park...lots of footpaths, big dogs 'playfighting', nice views, but was prob worth a miss.
5) The oh-so-famous redlight district; I have to say, it scared the living daylights out of me...never realised just how naive I was until we wondered through there!... plus I'm lacking a certain Y chromosome to fully appreciate this area.
6) Niewmarkt; Nice cafe bars, one strikingly similar to Walkabout 😊 I noticed alot of 'Coffeehouses' here...made a mental note to avoid those!!! (Have seen far too many stoned brits....doesn't even appeal to us in the slightest.)
Today we're going to go see Anne Franks House, do some more walking around and tacky momento shopping :P Tomorrow we've decided to move on to Cologne, Germany. Are going to save Brussels for another trip...
Finally, I forgot to say...great weather- no afro hair yet, but I'll keep you updated! lol
KTxx

Advertisement



21st June 2007

Anne Frank
It's so heartbreaking but you need to see it for yourself. What an amazing little girl and what a beautiful family. I hope the tears have stopped by the time you read this. I look forward to the next entry.
21st June 2007

Lookin good
Looks and sounds like I need 2 go 2 Amsterdam - will be checkin cheap flights soon. Sure youll both like Cologne too. Lookin forwards 2 next blog lots of love to both xxxx
26th June 2007

Hello!
I know what you mean! I'm re-reading Anne Franks diary now- so sad!!! Hope you're well anyway. Talk soon!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb