Rhineland


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Cologne
June 22nd 2007
Published: June 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

As of yesterday, neither of Gerard nor I had ever been to Germany, so naturally we were very keen to see what it had to offer.
The train journey from Amsterdam was beyond comfortable; even though we were in second class, it all felt abit 5-starry! As the ´Intercity 225', (ironically the name of a toy-train i used to play with my brother), began its journey into western Germany, I couldn´t help noticing how lush the countryside was. Germany has recently been pelted with rain like England, yet somehow instead of looking dank and depressing, the landscape glistened. (I started to understand why this country has been the inspiration for so many fairy tales 😊 )
We are now in Köln (Cologne), and although it has been a slight trek off our scheduled path, fortunately it´s been a very pleasant stay. The Köln Catherdral is magnificant...highly recommended to anyone interested in gothic architecture. Its truely incredible it managed to escape the WW2 air raids, but I was told apparently that the Brits had used it as a landmark to navigate from, before radar was fully established.
Today we are going to have a walk along the Rhine and through the Old Town, and then visit a couple of Museums (one of which has a Roman remains restoration hall-which should be fantastic). I'm also looking forward to using more of the pidgin-German I've been stringing together. I seem to be doing okay, considering the last time I used this language was when I was 13yrs old!! Plus, thankfully I know the most important phrase one will ever need: Einen weißwein bitte!! (A white wine please!!) hehe!
On to Berlin tomorrow...will add photos soon- this computer has no spare usb ports.
Love to all, KT 😊

ps. Just discovered 49centts for a 20 pack of Berocca Multivitimins...can not believe it. (They're about 6 quid at home!) Maybe my insides won't corrode on Cola and Sandwiches after all!
pps. Apologies for the random punctuation... but this keyboard is scary! Took me half a hour to work out where @ was!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb